We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue du Couedic, 44000 Nantes, France (Graslin - Commerce)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Nantes
Menifee, California
1 review
“Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I usually don't stay at Best Westerns, but I have to say I would stay at this one in a heart beat. They were friendly, & helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, & surprisingly roomy. The view of Mt Witney was spectacular. I didn't expect much, what I got was so much more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan B, Gérant at Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Madam,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Nantes but you may be posting about the wrong hotel since we are the Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel and you shared your experience about the Best Western.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you for your next visit in Nantes.

SIncerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    127
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
84
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Centrally baees with everything around it that you need after work. Great city to walk around and sme fantastic restaurants. Bar prices in the hotel a little steep but not overly. My room looks recently refurbished and is clean and tidy. Able to stand out on the balcony with a morning coffee

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan B, Gérant at Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel and sharing your experience with Trip Advisor travelers.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, notably our services and location. One of our strong points is our ideal location in the centre of Nantes. We are close to everything including shops and restaurants. The tramway, also near the hotel, enables you to get to more distant attractions in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit in Nantes.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I wondered why this hotel - the `main one' in my old Guide Michelin - had disappeared from the latest edition. I noted other eviews that it was difficult to reach, but never mind, we tried it. Our satnav took us along `no entry'; `trams only' streets & told us to turn right into a pedestrian area. Luckily a street sweeper was about to take his cart there & whren I asked about the hotel, was told to follow him. He had the `magic passcode' for the bollards & pointd us to the narrow street where the hotel is located. I actually found someone at Reception who told me to turn right, then down ito the car park where we could unload . Down a very narrow entrance ramp we found, eventuallym the hotel door, but no lift, so we had to lug cases up to the lobby. The guy was pretty helpful, recommending restaurants, but being unaware of Nantes' `special attraction', the place where they make the fantastic `giant creatures ( the Elephant from London & the spider from Liverpool).
The location is actually excelent, a short stroll to the main shopping & eating streets, but the place seems to be run on a shoestring staff. Having said that, the place was clean & the room was comfortable. Just a pity it is so hard to find

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan B, Gérant at Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel and for sharing your comments with Tripadvisor travellers.

However, we would like to apologize for the difficulties you had to access our hotel and we assure you that your comments have been shared with our team. We are working with the city council to improve the signage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next stay in Nantes.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLH
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

we stayed in this very well located (calm street day+night and in the very downtown) hotel during 2 nights. if you arrive by taxi, there is no Problem to have Access to the Hotel, the taxi can drop (adn pick you up) in front of the door.
the hotel itself was reniewed per "today's tates" they could improve the brightness and also increase the size of the bathroom: the shower is great but the sink area is very tiny. the bedding is quite hard and air conditionning never stops.
Breakfast is nice and should fit to everyones tates.

Room Tip: our room was on the 4th floor with street view, it was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan B, Directeur général at Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your comments tripadvisor's travellers.
I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and look foward to welcoming you soon in Nantes
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great location, right in the city centre. Hotel staff was great to deal with for directions as well as check in/out.

The room was large, with windows that actually open !!!!. The wifi was fast, the bathroom was large and the bed was fantastic. There was a great business centre next tp the bar that offered water and access to a nepresso machine.

Room rate came with breakfast , which included hot and cold dishes, which was all very nice.

Finding this hotel by car found could be a challenge as it is located inside a closed road that requires pillars to be lowered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan B, Directeur général at Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your comments with Tripadvisor's travellers. I am glad to hear that you appreciated our location and services; these two strong points and are one of the many reasons for our high level of regular guests. The team of the Mercure Nantes centre looks forward to welcoming you back for your next visit in Nantes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was indeed very difficult to get to by car even with GPS. The road in which the hotel is located is closed and you need to get the bollards lowered to gain entry. None of this is obvious as you try and navigate a strange city. However the hotel staff were extremely helpful once I rang them, and when we got to the hotel, they took our car and parked it in the hotel car park for us, much appreciated and saving any further stress!

Lovely hotel, really well located for seeing Nantes on foot. Our room overlooked the street with a small balcony, bathroom with separate toilet was a really nice touch. Very comfortable. Breakfast excellent, but a bit expensive.

Try L'Entrecote next door for a good steak dinner at a very good price. It is all they serve and the wine choice is red or white, but very good quality and value. Be prepared to queue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan B, Directeur général at Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Mercure Nantes Centre Grand hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, notably on our quality of services and our front office team. However, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had to access our hotel and we would like to assure you that your comments have been shared with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next stay in Nantes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a difficult to get to via car and GPS. WE kept going around and around and must have spent an hour going around and around the block. Construction and one way road signs was hard to navigate and it was late at night already when we arrive in NAntes. We ended up parking the car in a parking lot then walking to it.

It was a nice centrally located hotel in a main square, nice square. Nice walkable square and attractions such as the cathedral, and shops. Breakfast was wonderful. Our rooms were nice and comfortable and after 3-4 hours on the road was good to relax in the comforts of the Hotel Grand Mercure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan B, Gérant at Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your room as well as the location of the Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel.

We sincerely regret the trouble you had to find the hotel. Before your arrival, don’t hesitate to contact us (+33)2 51 82 10 00. Our reception team will be more than happy to give you the best directions to get easily to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay in Nantes.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel

Address: 4 Rue du Couedic, 44000 Nantes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes > Graslin - Commerce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nantes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nantes
#10 Business Hotel in Nantes
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, which was fully renovated in 2013, is perfect for both business and leisure trips. Whether visiting the Passage Pommeraye, the Château des Ducs de Bretagne or the Cité des Congrès events center, the hotel is in an ideal location right in the heart of the city. We have thought of everything to meet your expectations, whether you are here for a seminar or for a relaxing break: comfortable modern rooms, a lounge bar, fitness room, meeting rooms and a new Easywork space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Accor Nantes Central
Mercure Nantes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.