We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay started with warm, friendly greetings at the desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Angers Centre Gare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Angers Centre Gare to your Saves list
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Boulevard du Marechal Foch, 49100 Angers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Angers
Florida Keys
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay started with warm, friendly greetings at the desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

And that warmth and helpfulness continued the entire stay. Location is superb! Right on the tram line, Great restaurant attached, shopping and sightseeing within 2 blocks !! Underground car park nearby. Clean, equipped, could not have asked for anything more for this European 4 star hotel. Again, lovely ladies that staffed the front desk were the best ANYWHERE !! Merci

Room Tip: Spend a few days, there is much to see and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    150
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
84
33
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant overnight stay in this hotel in two interconnecting rooms making up a family suite, for a good price. All very clean and comfortable and the reception staff were charming and thoughtful.

It is made very clear from the website that the hotel has no car park, but that public car parks are available nearby. I must admit that I had assumed that there would be some sort of pull in for the car in front of the hotel so we could stop momentarily, go in, drop our bags and get directions to the parking. There was not, and the location on a busy dual lane main street - with trams running down the centre too - meant that even the quickest dash to the front desk would not be quick enough. (From the look of it, this hotel is a converted office building, hence this lack of a standard hotel facility) We did find an underground car park about 500m away, so all was eventually well but it made for a bit of a high stress arrival.

We were on our way south for a family holiday and our car was loaded up with baggage, which we didn't want to leave on show over night, so this meant hauling rather more than an overnight bag from the car park to the hotel.

That said, this is not hidden on the website so I just reiterate the point here. Otherwise, this is a perfectly good place to stay for a visit to Angers and very handy for the pedestrianized streets of the central city, but if you are wanting to have your car close by then consider a more out of town hotel.

Without a car, I would be more than happy to return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Count me a fan of Mercure hotels. They may not have tons of personality, but often, they're centrally located (as this one is), well-staffed, and incredibly reliable. The room for two was very spacious, for France (rooms for one are smaller). This is the second time I've stayed here and I think it's just great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Room and on site restaurant were both good. Hotel is 10 minutes walk from old town sites. Limited underground hotel parking nearby is reasonably priced.
Service was excellent as I found when I needed a doctor, and Angele on reception could not have been more helpful, even offering translation support.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this Mercure Hotel during an event week my company held in Angers. Its location is great (well, Angers is not a big city), the personnel was extremely friendly and helped me and my colleague a lot during the event days, and what is even more important - all the people at the reception spoke English fluently (well, it is not a secret that France is not very English-friendly)! The manager of the hotel as well as his team are very attentive, warm and friendly people.

The room was very nice and clean. It upset me a bit that the room service kept throwing away the newly opened soap bar. I had to open a new one every day, and I thought it was a great waste.

The room had actually the best bed I have ever had in an European hotel - king-size and very firm. Although my window faced the road side, there was an extra sound-proof shield before the window, which one could close, if distirbed by the street noice.

What I would not recommend as much is the restaurant at the hotel. It is quite expensive, but we was not very happy with our meal there. If you take a three minutes walk into the old city you will find quite a few places which serve delicious French cuisine (e.g. Brasserie de Theatre - an absolute must!!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location for seeing the sights of Angers. You can walk to most things. Rooms are verging on the small side but are well appointed with a very excellent bed and tea/coffee making facilities. They have great double glazing and you can adjust the room temperature in your room. The bathroom had a great (over the bath) shower and all of the expected Mercure lotions and potions. Strangely for a hotel of this standing the towels looked, felt and performed like the threadbare relics they were. I should have asked for replacements. I rarely mention reception staff as I figure it is their job to look after you but on this occasion we had need of someone to look after an important issue by phone who could speak french and they were efficient and effective. They just sorted it and this enabled us to enjoy our stay. I watched the sort business issues for others too. I would recommend this hotel as a good stay. I would also highly recommend a visit to the Chateau which is minutes away on foot. it is incredible in its own right but also houses the Apocalypse Tapestry I am in awe of few things but this is one of them. Make sure you see it - with the audio guide commentary.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - excellent double glazing for a centre city location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location near the main square in Angers, 24h underground car park nearby only charging you 2euros per night!!! Clean,quiet,modern Mercure in a nice city... However breakfast a bit pricey €15... Highly recommended though

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Angers Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Angers Centre Gare

Address: 18 Boulevard du Marechal Foch, 49100 Angers, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Angers Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 10 minutes’ walk from the city centre and 5 minutes’ walk from the train station, the All Seasons Angers Centre Gare has it all, and offers all-inclusive rates.The modern and cosy rooms can accommodate solo travellers, romantic getaways and families. They are fitted with excellent bedding with anti-stress pillows and duvets, and 26-inch flat-screen TV. high-speed free Wi-Fi access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Angers Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Angers Centre Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.