We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with the dragon theme” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Chinon

Chateau de Chinon
Avenue Francois Mitterand, France
02-47-93-13-45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 144 Attractions in Loire Valley
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Essex
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great with the dragon theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited this with our 21 month old. If you choose to go down into all of the areas to visit then there are lots of steps which can be a bit of an issue with a child but other than that we really enjoyed it. I liked that they had a dragon theme and that certainly made it much more child friendly. However, I don't think the dragons are a permanent addition, which is a shame. Overall though good to visit if in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    100
    38
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angmering
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Here be dragons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A good visit of a mediaeval fortress which was much enlivened by the audio visual presentations and the presence of several dragons with unlikely reasons for being there, added to the harmless fun. Wonderful to be in the same place as Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine and one's imagination could run riot. Lots of climbing of narrow stairs in stone towers; a reminder of youthful visits to the Welsh castles, great for children. A great contrast to the other chateaux in the area. The town below is a good reminder of a town before the advent of the motor car and also well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Invest an hour or two and you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Chinon Chateau is a simple fortress with a complex and significant history. Good film clips provide great atmospheric explanations of some of the key historical players and the events. Not being a student of history, these media presentations certainly enhanced by undertanding and enjoyment. The panorama from the fortress over the town and river Vienne are not to be missed even in bad weather.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Looking for an interesting chateau to show some friends we found Chinon a little disppointing.

Although large, well-preserved and imposing, there is little inside the various rooms of interest.

We found the displays poor, the audio visuals boring and the multi-language screen presentations mostly didn't work.

Dragons have been added around the place to keep the kids interested but the adults weren't impressed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great castle - lots of steps!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent a large part of the afternoon here. This was a fighting chateau rather than a country house. Lots of battlements to walk along, dungeons to explore, and a LOT of steps to go up and down through all of the towers! My knees suffered!! Currently there is the added interest of dragons to be found all around the chateau with stories behind each one - great fun for the little ones. There are guided tours, displays, film explanations and a visitor centre. 3 hours flew by and our child loved it. The views up and down the river and over the town were fabulous.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Chinon also viewed

Langeais, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 

Been to Chateau de Chinon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Chinon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.