We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food good service and relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Baraque a Boeuf

La Baraque a Boeuf
11 place St Pierre, 72000 Le Mans, France
0243280607
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 207 Restaurants in Le Mans
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food good service and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a great meal here nice staff and excellent food, will defo go again, outside was packed as was the restaurant next door so i would reccomend booking, moderately priced and worth a visit if your in le Mans old town, lots of road works going on in the area but the restaurant is in a nice square off the main roads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    87
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N. Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Super Boeuf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great day in Le Mans the day before the big race and we need some food. These guys welcomed us into a packed restaurant. The bread was gorgeous, with mustardy stuff to spread on. We ordered their speciality with is finely sliced beef cooked with a pepper sauce and amazing potatoes. It was just fab. And then we had apple crumble and they even brought sweets. The waiters were so friendly, even in English and we had a great night. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Reasonable price made it even tastier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It makes a pleasent change that the No 1 rated restaurant in a town isn't also the most expensive.

Food was excellent. Pave of Beef with Roquefort was so good I was dissappointed that I had the excellent starter of eggs in cream with Fois Gras. The Beef was very thinly sliced, cooked to perfection and all sat on a Potato rosti which soaked up all the juices ( I couldn't quite finish this and felt berieved as a consequence).

We dined with our 5 yr old son, although there wasn't a kids menu the waiter came up with a dish at a reasonable price.

Entree and Plat Menu was 17 euro washed down with a cheeky bottle of Chinon at 20 euro.

Everything out of ther top drawer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good meal - reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thank you to the Tripadvisor community for steering us to this restaurant. We had one of the best meals of our recent vacation. The beef brochette was tender and well seasoned plus it was served with 3 kinds of potatoes - all amazing! The manager was very happy to hear that we had followed Tripadvisor's advice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friend and I were in Le Mans for the race and we were wandering through the old town looking for somewhere to eat when we came across La Baraque. As a pair of middle-aged men we were quite amused when we were shown to our table at a romantic Juliet balcony overlooking the square below. After a bit of banter with the waiter we ordered and within minutes the meal appeared!
And what a meal!! The finest steak, sliced so thinly as to be almost transparent. It melted in the mouth. The accompanying vegetables were also delicious. This to me was heaven. My accomplice (who usually eats steak "well done") was also ecstatic about the meal.
The dessert was fantastic and as for value I would easily expect to pay twice the price in London for a meal that would not compete with this one.
Yeah! I liked it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baraque a Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to La Baraque a Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baraque a Boeuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.