We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Auto Museum Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe

Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe
9 place Luigi Chinetti, 72 009 Le Mans, France
00 33 2 43 72 72 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Le Mans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous car museum is the result of over 100 years of car collecting and features some of the rarest and most beautiful automobiles in the world.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Auto Museum Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Indianapolis Museum, look out, these boys have you beat. You want to see some race car history, this is a "Don't Miss" venue. Budget a couple of hours to take it all in and you will not be disappointed. The entrance fee is comensurate with the quality and quantity, a true racing fan will not blink an eye over the expense. Nicely done and kudos to the curator!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musee-24h, Community Manager at Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your message !
It's always a pleasure to read such enthusiastic comment

Best racing regards
Le Musée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    54
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK Somewhere
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place... Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a huge selection of history. Greatly priced as well.. Worth the visit. Cant believe i missed this place in previous years.. Will go again... Just soo much to see

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musee-24h, Community Manager at Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Google Translation
Meric pour votre visite
nous sommes heureux de vous avoir fait autant plaisir
envie de revivre ce voyage dans le temps, n'hésitez pas à télécharger notre application sur le site internet Guidigo (ville Le Mans)

A bientôt alors !
L'équipe du Musée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Boys' Toys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Inspite of trepidation on my part, being female and not really interested in anything mechanical, I really enjoyed this museum, and my husband could quite easily have stayed all day! A large part of the museum is devoted to vintage cars rather than Le Mans cars themselves, though all are in pristine condition and are an amazing part of history.

We spent over 2 hours here, followed by 2hours taking in the atmosphere of the circuit, albeit a week after the race. Great place!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musee-24h, community Manager at Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your message and your visit
best regards
Le Musée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As we were already at the Le Mans 24 hour and nothing happens on track on a Friday
(except for pit lane walk, which we have done a couple of times) we decided this year
to go to the museum and it was well worth it! It costs €8.50 for an adult and about €6.00
for students which was handy as we had two with us! It was well worth the money too,
we spent around 2 1/2 to 3 hours going around the exhibits, it also helped with the fact
that it was a very hot day and we were able to escape from the heat for a few hours! If you
are thinking of going do, it's well worth it!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musee-24h, Community Manager at Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello

thank you for your visit (a long visit by the way) and your comment.
Hope to welcome you next time
Best racing regards
Le Musée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cat W”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It was absolutely wonderful to see my dad's eyes light up as we went through this museum! Although he is definitely a car guy, he often doesn't like such car museums/exhibits if it is only about things he already knows, so we were a little skeptical at first when we brought him here.... but he LOVED it, and the rest of us loved his explanations and the stories of the different cars.

Even if you aren't into cars per say, they have both the racing and non-racing cars laid out in a very organized, chronological order so that you can see the evolution of technology over time. It was fascinating to see the cars and the videos of the race from the 1920s, and the vehicles from late 19th/early 20th century. I found the size of the museum and the quantity and style of information to be good, not too large or detailed for non-car people, though of course car enthusiasts will be satisfied too.

I had budgeted about an hour and a half for the visit based on reviews here and from a friend. If I had come without my dad, I would have still found the museum quite interesting and but I probably would have only stayed about an hour. With dad's enthusiasm we stayed for about two and a half hours, including a visit to the track!!

My only critique was that in visiting the track, it would have been nice to have been given a little more orientation by the staff on where to go to get a nice view. Besides that, this museum was absolutely wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musee-24h, community Manager at Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Catherine

thank you so much for your very king comment.
It's always a pleasure to read such enthusiastic message

best regards
Le Musée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe also viewed

Le Mans, Sarthe
Le Mans, Sarthe
 

Been to Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee des 24 Heures-Circuit de la Sarthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.