We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious with great little touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Nez Rouge

Le Nez Rouge
Grand Rue 107, 72000 Le Mans, France
+33 2 43242726
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 207 Restaurants in Le Mans
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Delicious with great little touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hubby and I had the menu gourmand and everything was brilliant. In addition to our chosen courses, the establishment included amuse bouche, palate cleansing sorbet, petit fours and a digestif that can only be described as distilled marmalade. It is quiet and intimate inside but not in your face romantic, so could go with friends. Service started a little, ahem, Parisian, but warmed up!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charente Maritime
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent unpretentious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Heading from our home in the Charente Maritime to the UK, we visited Le Nez Rouge for lunch, having looked at other Trip advisor recommendations and we weren't disappointed. The restaurant is located in the old part of Le Mans on a cobbled street and the decor is contemporary whilst retaining the features of the old timber framed building. We had the 12 euro menu which was excellent value for money. There were three or four choices for each course and the portions were plentiful without being overwhelming. They were well presented and tasted delicious. Coffee was extra but came with home made meringues and was followed by a complimentary digestive! Other diners were a mix of French locals and tourists - no other English speakers. We will definitely visit again on our next UK trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Delicious with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The red nose! Is the basic translation for this restaurant's name - we have kept the card to remember the wonderful meal we enjoyed here. We ate in about 7 restaurants in Le Mans and this tied with my other favourite Vielle Porte. The major difference with Le Nez Rouge is that they were adventurous with the food combinations. I had a gooseberry with my meal and the presentation was outstanding. Be warned the 3 course meal will have you struggling to walk home later!
You will need to book ahead as this restaurant is always busy. Our wonderful B & B made the suggestion and did the booking for us. They are also closed at least one night a week. For what you received I thought the price was good but it probably was just slightly more expensive than some of the others we ate at.
Definately put this place on your list for dinner if in Le Mans.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratfor-upon-Avon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to this restaurant and the food remains as good as ever, though it is a bit more pricey than it was. The staff were a bit under pressure when we visited (it was a Saturday night) and so service was a bit impersonal. Nevertheless we would thoroughly recommend Le Nez Rouge!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diggle, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“a stop overnight in le man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We first found this restaurant a few years ago decided to stay overnight in Le Man on the way home from Perignan a walk around the old town lots of eateries but the Le Nez Rouge was the one we chose and we were not wrong empty when we arrived but soon filled with locals and visitors the food is excellent the service good the atmosphere ideal the first time we visited a group came in wearing Renault jackets we have been back a number of times and never been dissapointed we intend to make a final visit May 2013 being two gereactics it will be the last long distance drive only wingers could fault this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Nez Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Le Nez Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Nez Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.