We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious with a twist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Nez Rouge

Le Nez Rouge
Grand Rue 107, 72000 Le Mans, France
+33 2 43242726
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 220 Restaurants in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Delicious with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The red nose! Is the basic translation for this restaurant's name - we have kept the card to remember the wonderful meal we enjoyed here. We ate in about 7 restaurants in Le Mans and this tied with my other favourite Vielle Porte. The major difference with Le Nez Rouge is that they were adventurous with the food combinations. I had a gooseberry with my meal and the presentation was outstanding. Be warned the 3 course meal will have you struggling to walk home later!
You will need to book ahead as this restaurant is always busy. Our wonderful B & B made the suggestion and did the booking for us. They are also closed at least one night a week. For what you received I thought the price was good but it probably was just slightly more expensive than some of the others we ate at.
Definately put this place on your list for dinner if in Le Mans.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratfor-upon-Avon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to this restaurant and the food remains as good as ever, though it is a bit more pricey than it was. The staff were a bit under pressure when we visited (it was a Saturday night) and so service was a bit impersonal. Nevertheless we would thoroughly recommend Le Nez Rouge!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diggle, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“a stop overnight in le man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We first found this restaurant a few years ago decided to stay overnight in Le Man on the way home from Perignan a walk around the old town lots of eateries but the Le Nez Rouge was the one we chose and we were not wrong empty when we arrived but soon filled with locals and visitors the food is excellent the service good the atmosphere ideal the first time we visited a group came in wearing Renault jackets we have been back a number of times and never been dissapointed we intend to make a final visit May 2013 being two gereactics it will be the last long distance drive only wingers could fault this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went to this restaurant on the advice of our hosts in Le Mans as being good French food in a good atmosphere and at a fair price. We were not disappointed it was all of these things and more besides. Good presentation,good service, and good food what more could a man wish for. It was far and away the best retaurant we tried in the four days we stayed in Le Mans,
When we visit again we will certainly go there again.One needs to book as they were turning people away all night. Well done

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in a petite setting..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We had dined in a "famous" restaurant last year in Le Mans, and were so disappointed that we almost did not return to the Historic Cite Plantagenet area of Le Mans for dinner...it is quite a difficult area to find a parking space, and a challenging walk on the historic cobblestone streets to Le Nez Rouge, but it was so worth all of the hassle. And the name comes from the chef's love of clowns with red noses...quite a few as the decor....

The prix fixe menu at 19.90 Euros was well priced compared to several other restaurants on the street, and it was the dining highlight of our visit to Le Mans, and to our visit in France!

The 3 course Menu started out with a 'mise en bouche' of pork rillets (smokey flavored ground up pork mixed with its own rendered fat) served with fresh
and hot toast points...one of the best rillets we have tasted.

For a starter course we both chose the Foie Gra Maison, served as a generous
slice of a freshly house made terrine, with a smattering of smokey duck rillets on the top and bottom, a fresh fig in the middle, and a side of fig compote and freshly toasted toast points....what a delight!

After we had licked the plate clean, we were served a palate cleanser of citron ice drenched in vodka...oh my....another delight!

My husband had the brochette of quail, with 4 deboned petite quails on a skewer
interspersed with white grapes, with a honey reduction sauce, and he also licked that plate clean..the quail were roasty & tender....I had ordered the pork loin with apple compote, sliced sauteed apples and potatoes, in a silky Calvados sauce which was fabulous...a thick slice of premium pork loin with a stuffing of chopped sweet apples in the middle, and the pork was fork tender...I wiped up every spot of Calvados sauce...

For dessert I had a trio of tastings...creme brulee, chocolate mouse, and a vanilla whipped cream on a spoon...husband had the Tarte Tatin, which was prepared in
the traditional method, with a scoop of vanilla ice cream....just enough good sweet tastes to end a fine meal.

We had no reservations, but the petite dining areas filled up fast....get there early
if you have no reservation!! We will definitely return on our next visit to LeMans!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Nez Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Le Nez Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Nez Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.