We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, harried hostess” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Demeure de Laclais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Demeure de Laclais to your Saves list
La Demeure de Laclais
4 bis place du cardinal Grente, 72000 Le Mans, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Le Mans B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice room, harried hostess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The B&B is located right next to the Cathedral in the wonderful medieval part of town. We stayed in Cyrano, which is very large, clean and comfortable. The hostess seemed determined not to speak English and was less than helpful in offering suggestions for dinner, simply pointing to a tray of cards on the table. We arranged for breakfast at 8:00 the next morning, but we beat her downstairs. The same thing happened the next morning. I think the high chair in the dining room explains why she seems so harried. Parking is free from 5pm-9am, but very expensive otherwise--and they do issue tickets, so beware. The hostess told us it was free, but we saw no signs that gave us any reassurance that this was so. So, a good location, a nice room, but we didn't feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of a business trip in northern France. We did not know much about the lovely old center of Le Mans or its nightly illuminations but decided to drop in "on spec". Eric and Brigitte made us very welcome and gave us some very helpful advise. As other reviewers have commented this is a lovely old property that they have recently updated in a very stylish manner. The suite is massive and has several unusual features - including a turret and a chapel. Parking for "foreign nationals" now seems to be free in front of the hotel. Standard french breakfast, beautifully presented.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinus Iridium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The medieaval centre of LeMans is very picturesque and La Demeure de Laclais is right in the centre of it.
This was the most French feeling hotel of the four we stayed in during our tour, and so are the hosts, who were very friendly. Included excellent breakfast (superb bread) is served on a single table, at which we enjoyed the company of another French guest - which helped get us going in speaking French. The large bedroom with outstanding en-suite was equipped with an additional bed, provided on request for an extra E25. A lovely view of the cathedral square from the room provided a delightful view of the illuminations on the church facade.
Parking was in the square, but had to be paid for, and this was very expensive at about E2.50 per hour, fortunately free overnight.
Arrival was a little awkward, as no-one was at home. Instructions on the door to phone the manager proved at first troublesome as there was no signal. However, this was possible, if you stood by the parking ticket machine.
In terms of character, general service, and quality, I'm happy to overlook the slightly annoying arrival problem and allow the hotel to scrape 5* Watch the parking charges though.

Room Tip: We requested a good view and got prime position, upstairs facing the square, with great view of cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I booked one night here while touring through France and found the accommodations just beautiful. The suite was absolutely gorgeous and very clean. After seeing the accommodations, I wish we had planned to stay longer in Le Mans. As it was, I was very ill upon arrival and am very grateful to the proprietors for their kindness. When they learned the following morning that I was still feeling ill, they made a doctor appointment for me, took my husband to an ATM, came back to get me, took us to the doctor and then to the pharmacy. That was SO kind of them! I wish I could take another trip to 1) tell them again how grateful we are for their generous hospitality and 2) enjoy their lovely B&B and beautiful Le Mans for more than one night and while not being sick. I highly recommend staying at La Demeure de Laclais.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Faultless, the property is situated directly next to the rear of the catherdral and immediately adjacent to the Cite Plategenet on top of the ridge which dominates the whoe town. The welcome and assisstance afforded by Eric was a perfect start to our stay, he was good enough to offer to carry my very large & heavy case up to the Berengere room at the top of the house. A private small lobby area unfoldes into two large seperate rooms, one, a bedroom which quite suprisingly includes the bath tub, and provides views North across the river. The second room, a lounge area looking directly onto the rear of the catherdral. Well appointed throughout and extremly sharply decorated and maintained. On top of all this, the bedroom has a door which leads onto a small terrace which affords both a good viewpoint and a convenient extra place to enjoy the late afternoon sunshine. The Darty Wifi solution whilst unknown to me, worked very well. Breakfast was top class, infact, everything about the property suggests that the owners are trying so very hard to ensure that guests enjoy thier stay, if only that were the case throughout the industry. Worth noting, there is no private car parking, but public parking is easy being immeditaely closeby, next to the cathedral. We did not use the garden, but it looked equally well maintained.

Room Tip: The Berengere room is a treat and certainly worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My family (which includes two teenaged children) stayed in La Tourelle for one night. There are actually two massive adjoining rooms with 12 foot ceilings arranged in a L shape. For a accommodation in France, the suite was palatial! We all had more than enough space for all our bags. The hosts were very hospitable & welcoming. We would've preferred the shower to have frosted glass since we (as the parents) had to shift to the kids' room while they took turns showering & vice versa. The toilet being in the tower was quite quaint.

The location is very well situated as it was very close to one of our favourite restaurants of our 3 week trip to France -(l'Auberge de 7 Plats) and the Cathédrale St-Julien.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This was suppose to be a treat after camping for 4 days at the Le Mans 24 hour race. The room we were given was not en-suite the bathroom being across the landing from the room. The shower was over the bath with no curtain so difficult not to splash water everywhere. The room we were given had many personal effects of the owners as did the bathroom, making us feel they had moved out of their rooms to fit us in. We were on the top floor with a skylight window and the view over the cathedral would have been wonderful if we could have opened the blind. One of the bed side lights did not work either.
The breakfast was ok, but for 90euros per night we did expect something better.
Maybe the other rooms were alright????

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Demeure de Laclais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Demeure de Laclais

Address: 4 bis place du cardinal Grente, 72000 Le Mans, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Le Mans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Demeure de Laclais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Demeure de Laclais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.