We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great b&b and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos d'Hauteville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Mans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos d'Hauteville
Save
You added Le Clos d'Hauteville to your Saves list
2 rue d'Hauteville, 72000 Le Mans, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Le Mans B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A great b&b and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The B&B is hidden behind a high wall about 5 minute walk from the town centre. There is virtually no signage so easy to miss. Secure parking is included in the tariff - at an underground park at a school 100 metres away. Christiana and Bernard are delightful and made us most welcome. The rooms, in a mini mansion, are large and comfortable. Our bathroom was enormous and beautifully appointed. TV was french only. Breakfast in the lovely dining room was also excellent. Christiana and Bernard were the perfect hosts and provided great information and advice on where to go. Could not speak too highly of the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
32
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights before we went to the Le Mans Circuit and as part of a tour of Normandy and Brittany. This B&B has everything you could want: a lovely warm welcome from Christiane, advice on where to eat, information about what is happening in the area, a lovely comfortable room, beautiful bathroom and all within easy walking distance of the old town. Breakfast was great and included (which was not the case everywhere we stayed). We were there for the first couple of nights of the La Nuit des Chimères which we knew nothing about until Christiane explained. It was fantastic! Our car was safely parked just up the road in an underground car park and we left it there throughout our stay. I am sure there is nowhere better to stay to visit Le Mans, which is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We cannot speak too highly of Le Clos d'Hautville, from the time we arrived uhtil we departed 4 days later Christiana and Bernard were the perfect hosts and made us most welcome.The room was perfect with everything that you wanted,the breakfast set you up for the day. Both our hosts were pleased to advise you on were to go and what to see. After a hard days sight seeing there is a lovely garden to sit in and relax. It is all so French. The Old Town is a Gem of Medieval Buildings with a wondeful Cathedral. When we return we will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I love this place. Mr et Mme Duhem run a fantastic Chambres d 'hotes in a superb central location, only a couple of minutes walk away from the centre of Le Mans. The house is like many French townhouses..... almost hidden away,but once you pass through the large green doors leading from the street, you are greeted by a very elegant and beautifully decorated home and a most welcoming family. I have been staying (along with various friends ) with this lovely family for over 20 years now when visiting the Le Mans 24Hr race and now that Bernard has 'retired' they have developed this business. As hosts they are perfect, really going well beyond what is expected (as an example, one year Bernard was driving around Le Mans trying to find parts for one of our British sportscars that had broken down). The house is large and stylish, the rooms big and airy, and everything is absolutely spotless. A perfect location and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in this elegant traditional home tucked away on a side street behind a wall that protects the intimacy of a lovely garden. The Glycine room was very large and the bathroom was one of the most spacious we've experienced in our travels. It has a modern very pleasant shower and a sink counter with space for cosmetic bags, etc. and excellent lighting. Hair dryer is provided. The bedroom is beautifully appointed with excellent reading lamps on the bedside tables, a useful antique desk, daybed, and flat screen TV. The room has a very high ceiling and lovely drapes over the window looking out on the street. The bathroom also has high ceiling, with elegant lace curtains that reveal the pretty garden when pulled aside.

Breakfast is served by the charming hosts in a beautifully designed dining room that harkens back to another age. WiFi connection was a bit troublesome, but that seemed common throughout France.

There is much to see in LeMans. We stayed two nights and would have been happier to have another night to see more. The historical center is full of charming buildings, shops and restaurants, while the modern city seems lively. The Le Mans racetrack, home of the 24 Hueres race and many others, is well worth a visit to see the track and the museum, though the tram often suggested is a good walk from the entrance to the museum and not well marked, so plan ahead and get detailed directions.

Room Tip: The Glycine room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This B & B is hidden away right in the heart of the city. It is within easy walking distance of the medieval quarter with all the tourist sights, shop and restaurants yet it is an oasis of peace and quiet. Bernard and his wife go out of their way to make you feel at home when you arrive, the rooms are huge, beatutifully furnished and the bed is equally large and comfortable.

The en-suite along with a shower with masses of hot water made us feel relaxed and ready for an evening meal. Our hosts went out of their way to book us a restaurant despite a number being closed due to school holidays.

All in all a wonderful overnight stop and one that we intend to return to and spend more time at in the future.

A Tip - This is not an easy place to find. The Rue d'Hautville is a narrow one way street of high buildings. Go to the far end and just before the corner you will see a set of tall green gates on your left; you have arrived!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed two nights in this B&B and would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Le Mans. The room was charming, very comfortable, with a modern bathroom and excellent shower. Breakfasts were generous and the owners even set it out at 7.05 am one day as we had an early start. They were really helpful all round. It is a quick 5 - 7 mins walk to the centre of Le Mans, and convenient for the railway station as well. Definitely a find in Le Mans and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos d'Hauteville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos d'Hauteville

Address: 2 rue d'Hauteville, 72000 Le Mans, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Le Mans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can explore the Royal Plantagenet City to your heart's content or browse the shopping streets nearby. A welcoming garden where you can relax or beautifully bedrooms appointed offer all the comfort you need. Room price (except special events) is 75 € (for 2 people) + 0,33 € per person for local tax. Price include night and the breakfast. For your lunch and diner, you are very close to the center of town and the "Cité Plantagenêt" where you will have a large choice. It will be a pleasure for Ms Duhem to advice you. Services include : Car park an Wifi internet access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos d'Hauteville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.