We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with nice large garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pommeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Pommeraie to your Saves list
La Pommeraie
314 Rue de l'Eventail, 72000 Le Mans, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Le Mans
Hampton
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel with nice large garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed one night and had an upstairs room which was nice. The bathroom, especially the shower needs a little refurbishment, but overall I felt it was a nicely decorated room and obviously recently refurbished. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and I really like the secure car park in the large garden, which was helpful to us as we had expensive kayaks on the roof. The garden is very nice and can be used by guest during the day and good for children too. It was quiet at night and the breakfast was good value, will definitely go back. There is also a very good restaurant within walking distance.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was fine and gave out to the garden and therefore very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
19
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hotel is quiet and has a nice garden area for kids to play or to relax after a long drive. However our room felt more like staff quarters- right behind reception with almost zero decoration and pretty run down. You would not want to spend any time in the rooms other than to sleep.

Overall the hotel isn't very well maintained- as other reviewers have noted- the whole place needs a bit of TLC.

Wouldn't want to pay more than EUR50 for somewhere like this, so not very good value really.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nice grounds but too far out of the city. No tea or coffee making facilities (an expensive extra). Nice bathroom but the doors in the room didn't shut properly.
The place needs refurbishing, as it has a run down feel. Breakfast just about OK.
Extremely expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This Hotel would have got a full marks but there was no tea & coffee making facilities in the room? It's not a French thing, as the Hotel we had in Limoges the week before had them. Also there was no waste paper bin in the room, only a tiny one in the bathroom. Other than that the room was huge, bed very comfortable and the breakfast was very good.
We had the best meal of our holiday in Le Mans too a lovely restaurant called La Chamade, 9 Rue Doree.. we hadn't booked but the lovely manager got us a table inside. It is situated in amongst the old cobbled streets near the Cathedral. The food was excellent but the best bit was the manager spoke a little English and he actually was happy to use it (first time in week that we hadn't felt complete idiots for not speaking very good French) and it helped that we could understand what we were ordering.. Back to the hotel, fantastic value for money..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We thought this hotel was very nice and didn't need to be any fancier for the price and location. Was newly decorated and the room was basically furnished but the beds were comfortable and the room was plenty big enough for 2 adults, a 4 and a 2 year old. The shower room was clean and functional. The breakfast was great with a wide choice including the usual french offerings, pancakes, cereals, fruits etc Really good cofffee. The host was friendly and helpful and was keen for us to explore Le Mans old town, which we did in the eveing we were there. The hotel is on the edge of Le Mans, so couldn't walk into town, but would definitely stay here again if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is set in a large tranquil garden which after a long drive could be a nice place to chill. The rooms were clean but basic and the beds on the small side for sharing. Feels a bit like an old institution of some sort. Does the job.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel was out of the way, but not to far out. The staff were extremely friendly, and room was very nice, with a nice large bathroom. The breakfast was a very nice buffet style French breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pommeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pommeraie

Address: 314 Rue de l'Eventail, 72000 Le Mans, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Le Mans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes from the centre of Le Mans, Hotel La Pommeraie offers good value accommodation and a warm and friendly welcome. La Pommeraie features 23 rooms offering a cosy atmosphere. They have a simple decoration and are fitted with LCD TVs. Business and leisure travellers will appreciate the peaceful setting of La Pommeraie. This hotel was fully renovated. It is set in a park, the perfect place to have a drink and to relax at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Pommeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pommeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.