We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in classic French seaside destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, avenue Pierre Loti | BP 174, 44503 La-Baule-Escoublac, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in La-Baule-Escoublac
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great stay in classic French seaside destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel 6 nights during the course of a Thalassotherapy cure at the adjoining Thalgo Spa.

The rooms: I was upgraded upon arrival (always a nice surprise, and very unexpected since I was travelling alone). The room is a bit dated (heard that rooms would have been redone if it hadn't been for the financial crisis), but spacious and extremely clean. Very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful housekeeping staff.

The restaurant: Excellent food, friendly and professional service, although they did get a bit overwhelmed during dinner some of the days, as the hotel was full due to school holiday in Paris and any of the guests were there with children. The possibility of taking breakfast in the room at no additionnal charge is a definite plus. I did however miss the possibility to take a lighter meal at the hotel, as both restaurants served full meals but no salads or snacks.

Other services: The Thalgo centre is just fantastic, nothing else to say. Great pools (I love salt water pools). Free use of bicycle, which is very nice since the centre og town is a 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

Conclusion: As part of a package with the Thalgo centre, this was a good value stay and I would definitely repeat the experience. I really appreciated the friendliness and efficiency of the service on all levels, which in my view compensates for the somewhat dated rooms. Note: since my mother thongue is French, I have no idea how service quality may be perceived by non-French speakers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    68
    28
    12
    2
See reviews for
30
98
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in Sep 09 (granted only for 1 night) with my sister. The hotel is in need of a major refurbishment- the decor looks shabby and does not fit a hotel of this star rating. The room was adequate, but again perhaps not what we were really expecting from a Barriere property. We used the indoor pool, sauna etc which were fine, but the edges of the pool were mouldy and it just looked like it needed either a good clean or a lick of paint. We knew what to expect from La Baule and you kind of get the feeling that the town has maybe lost some of its charm and past glamour. However we walked the full extent of the beach in the evening which we really enjoyed. We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

Very stylish hotel on the beachfront, with great pool, saunas and steamroom included in the room price. The restaurant , bars and breakfasts were rather pricy, but as it was off-season most of La Baule was closed, so it took some exploring to find alternatives. Various massages and health treatments were available, but also rather expensive (25 min massage for 58 euro). We do not usually splash out on 4 star hotels, so maybe others won't be so shocked at the price of 'extras'

The room was very clean, quiet and with an enormous double bed and lovely bathroom (esp the big deep bath). Many guests were wandering around in the complimentary dressing gowns and slippers from one treatment to another and the atmosphere was relaxing, though the staff could be a little stuffy whilst still being helpful (hey, it's a 4 star hotel in France!).

  • Liked — big big bed
  • Disliked — bar and restaurants were rather expensive
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

We stayed here in June 2006 for three nights and really enjoyed it. I was very surprised to read the previous review. We had a really nice big room in lovely condition. Yes this is a traditional style hotel but that can be nice. I did find the reception staff a bit curt but we had little interaction with them. The weather was mixed so the indoor leisure facilities were great. We went to reception to enquire about the room rate but actually booked on line through tripadvisor at a much cheaper rate. The hotel owns a restaurant across the road on the beach which is really nice. I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

Rather stuffy and traditional style - and unbearable clientele - with both dogs and crying children in the bar.
Rooms tired and not deluxe - the television perched on the minibar fridge - a decorative touch not used in so many '4' stars (4 is the highest rating) It was rather charmless
The pool/fitness facility were ok - but not good enough to make this a destination in itself - cant comment on the thalasso therapy -but it didnt appeal.
The usual buffet fare for breakfast - but nothing outstanding.
If your idea of a chic seaside spa resort is one where the burbery clad grands dames clutch their co-ordinated pooches then this is for you - otherwise give it a miss
La Baule must have been gorgeous before the beach was walled in with the most horrendous blocks of flats. A few blocks back from the seafront and youre in a world of fantasy mansions - but the development here has ruined a fabulous beach.

  • Liked — locatiion
  • Disliked — ugly tired decor
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere

Address: 6, avenue Pierre Loti | BP 174, 44503 La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > La-Baule-Escoublac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
#4 Luxury Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
#9 Romantic Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A temple dedicated to fitness and well being located in the midst of a garden of 100 year old pine trees. The 4 star Royal Thalasso Barriere offers 103 rooms and suites. Directly connected to the Thalgo La Baule thalassotherapy centre, 300m from the Casino de La Baule and the Tennis Country Club, and close to the centre of town. La Rotonde dietetic restaurant and Le Ponton brasserie. One indoor and one outdoor heated saltwater swimming pool, health club and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor La Baule Escoublac
La Baule Escoublac Accor
Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere France/La-Baule-Escoublac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Thalasso Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.