We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel as it should be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure La Baule Majestic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure La Baule Majestic to your Saves list
Mercure La Baule Majestic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Esplanade Lucien Barriere | and 2 Avenue de la Noue, 44500 La-Baule-Escoublac, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    148
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
166
26
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La-Baule-Escoublac, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Arrived early afternoon, as we had pre-booked car parking upon arriving at the security barrier we were informed to park in a numbered space. . Upon entering the Hotel we were greeted by two receptionists, efficiently checked in and given directions to our room. Great location on the sea-front, clean and as per other comments clearly refurbished to a high standard yet retaining character of the building – I was pleased to find a well-equipped and modern bathroom thou – not one from the 30’s ! - Great choice of Hotel. In the evening we decided to eat in one of the many restaurants along the seafront - actually on the beach…… Next morning we went to breakfast arriving around 9:30 (as it was Saturday we had until 10: 30 ) so plenty of time…. We were greeted by dirty tables, several staff and chaos…… None of the waitresses seamed bothered that people where arriving to eat ,nor appeared to know what to do first, clearly untrained and in my view probably dint really wish to be at work as they dint appear to enjoying being there. Eventually managed to find a table and assisted in the “cleaning” process. Clearly the hotel has a lack of cutlery and crockery as we dint receive any knives, but two large spoons and a fork each, this was confirmed later when we tried to locate a knife, they dint have any clean ones.. Odd cups and saucers “added” to the poor shabby impression. The lack of plates meant everyone had to eat off saucers! The dead flowers adorning the tables, once a Peony set the scene…. Thinking the second day would be better, as we entered the restaurant we were greeted by one of the waitresses and duly abandoned us as she went to discuss something import with one of her co-workers. We sat at one of the tables, helped ourselves to breakfast from the mediocre buffet. Although the hotel operates a waitress coffee service, having waited for over 15 minutes I decided to seek out some coffee… The coffee pots are located at the back of the restaurant and whilst helping myself I noted 4 waitresses chatting in the outer kitchen area, asking for milk was clearly inconvenient – which “one” would have to respond…. I’m a seasoned traveller, their attitude; lack of service is clearly visible to all. Why hasn’t “Management” sat down and monitored what the customer is experiencing here… You have a good hotel, let down by the poor service offered during breakfast….

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Mercure La Baule Majestic for three nights. Comfortable hotel with updated bathrooms in a great location along the main beach of La Baule. This is an older hotel that was fully renovated and modernized in 2005. Breakfast was okay. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. Hotel has on-site parking - tight and relatively expensive, but probably cheap for La Baule since it is difficult to find 24-hour parking in the immediate area. La Baule is an old-fashion resort that reminds me of the beach communities along the Jersey and Maryland coast in the US. La Baule is a sedate resort community without the flair or excitement of Biarritz or Nice. This is an area of France that does not attract many Americans. So, if you are looking for a traditional beach community with a wide open beach - this is the place - and the Mercure La Baule Majestic is a good choice. It's a lot cheaper than Nice and Biarritz.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hotel first rate in terms of cleanliness, service, and value. Great wines and breakfast [ we had the small breakfast in the bar] and the one dinner we had was excellent. Spacious room - we had a sea view. Good parking - but do book in advance. Hotel is right next to enormous beach with golden sand and safe swimming with every type of water sport and children's activity centres to hand. Beach and promenade spotlessly clean. The problem that we found was that the local restaurants and the [wonderful] food market, shops and and riverside restaurants at the end of the beach are a 20 minute walk away. There are, however, several restaurants right on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hotel was super clean and nice, Staff was very helpful, Location on the beach, great water view. Would come back in a second. There are restaurants close by. Hotel was a great value as we have paid more for less. The hotel is very modern and well appointed inside but maintains an early 1900s outside facade.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem, Belgium
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We payed 313 EUR at our reservation 5 months (!) in advance for a room in this 3-star hotel - and it IS definitely not worth more than these 3 stars. For instance: the least we expected in return was an elementary service, including a reserved parking place for our car. Alas... When we arrived at the reception desk the only thing they could think of, was "Our parking is completely taken, you will have to look for a place somewhere in town". As a result we ended up 500 m further along a busy road.
This issue was further amplified by our observation that at 22:00 hr. 5 places were still free in the hotel parking! And the compensation offered the next day (after having complained to the hotel manager) was free breakfast... after having taken our breakfast, and knowing it already was included in the 313 EUR advance payment... Other argument: "Our parking was already complete when you reserved 5 months ago"!!! 5 months ago our credit card was immediately charged alright, but we didn't get any such feedback (the lack of parking would certainly have resulted in a change of reservation towards another hotel).
Apart from that: stay out of the breakfast room if you want to keep your morning appetite. Presentation is terrible, and quality way below average.
Sure, we'll go back to La Baule in the future (it's a wonderful stroll along the coast side), but NO WAY this will be in this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

A friendly, greeting, a good room, an excellent breakfast, (especially for France!),
a good location, and importantly for La Baule, hotel parking.
We were impressed by this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure La Baule Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure La Baule Majestic

Address: 14 Esplanade Lucien Barriere | and 2 Avenue de la Noue, 44500 La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > La-Baule-Escoublac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
#3 Business Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
#4 Family Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
#8 Romantic Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure La Baule Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, the Mercure La Baule Majestic is 2 km from the town centre and 200 m from the thalassotherapy centre and the Casino. This airconditioned 3 star hotel offers 83 comfortable rooms, including 7 Privilege rooms (Junior suites). Our restaurant, Le Ruban Bleu, is a member of the gourmet restaurant association, Cuisineries Gourmandes, and serves sophisticated cuisine of the highest quality. The hotel also features two fully equipped conference rooms and seven breakout rooms. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure La Baule Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure La Baule Escoublac
Accor La Baule Escoublac
Mercure La Baule Majestic France/La-Baule-Escoublac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure La Baule Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.