We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food, really nice people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud to your Saves list
Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, really nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It is one of life's joys to sit in a town square and enjoy a drink. That comes to life here. The food is excellent, the service cheerful and the owners very friendly. The rooms are adequate but not big, but that is not a problem. Plenty of parking. The Abbey is the main reason for coming and it is well worth the trip, one English King, Two queens all waiting for you and glorious buildings, the kitchens a work of genius.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you holidaymaker for your compliments, we do hope to see you again on a future trip to the Loire Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
23
112
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you are going to eat at Le Plantagenet (excellent restaurant) and tour the Abbey (interesting) you might want to stay at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche. On its own, the location is remote and in need of a town! The room has a pretty window and pleasant view. The bed for two was two narrow beds pushed together - not my idea of a bed for a couple. There is no safe in the room and the room keys are kept in a basket on the counter at check-in. There isn't always someone at the desk. The location is sleepy and seems safe but when I am traveling I really like my property to be guarded for my peace of mind. We did not try the hotel breakfast because it was priced almost double what we found elsewhere. We were able to get croissants and coffee at the bakery just outside the hotel. Parking was easy to manage and free, much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and 80% satisfaction for the restaurant and hotel.

Twin room: all our rooms are different so it would have been easy to change rooms had only you indicated this at the beginning of your stay.

Security: in a private message we have explained our security measures - be assured your key, room and belongings are perfectly safe at all times. However we do not wish to publicly explain all the security measures in place, as you can appreciate...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with some friends to celebrate a65 birthday,hotel really good,staff excellent and very helpful as we're the owners always wanted to know if everything was ok and did we enjoy our day.rooms well equipped but no coffee / tea facilities in the rooms. Breakfast good but coffee was very disappointing otherwise all good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear golfers, thank you for posting this review on our page. We were delighted to have you with us again!
Good news about the coffee machine at breakfast : the new machine has arrived.
Freshly ground coffee, expresso, cappucino and café au lait available at breakfast now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just spent a really enjoyable 4 day stay at La Croix Blanche to celebrate the New Year. The dinner on New Years Eve was to 'die for' whilst not cheap ( on this evening you wouldn't expect it to be ) and the selection of local wines accompanying each course were superb

This is not a luxury hotel but our rooms were spacious warm and spotlessly clean. The staff and proprietors were very friendly and attentive.

The only downside was the weather was pretty poor, and on New Year's Day we had expected to do some 'chateau visiting ' but I suppose not surprisingly they were all closed for the day, which did leave us 'scratching our heads' what to do.

This is our 4th visit and we will certainly be returning, hopefully in the summer when all the flowers are in bloom

Michaeu

Room Tip: Some rooms have recently been upgraded - ask for one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear mr and mrs P, we were delighted to have you back again! The New Year's Eve dinner dance is definitely a special event, the French celebrate it in a big way as you have come to understand! Therefore many tourist sites were closed during the day, sorry about that.
We look forward to welcoming you again and show you all the renovation we are making this month. Happy 2014! Christophe & Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploermel, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

When I imagined the visit to Fontevraud-l'Abbaye I hoped for a pleasant stay at a nice hotel. Well, THIS hotel far exceeded my hopes!!
Charming, with a kind and accommodating staff. Updated throughout and yet still exudes old world ambiance.

Super convenient with lovely meals literally steps from my room. 2 in house restaurants. Boulangerie on the block. And the Abbaye just across the plaza.

My room and bed were bright and fresh with crisp linens. Overlooking a beautifully floral courtyard. Easy to
transport the imagination back to the 12th Century. And in luxurious comfort.
Wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear guest LisetteK,
on behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your kind remarks which motivates us all !
We hope we can welcome youo back some time next year.
Fontevraud has turned into a pretty town with many facilities ! And more to come within the next few months!!
best regards, mc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a quaint part of France. Abbey is just out of the front door making the hotel an excellent place to stay. Rooms were excellent, clean and well laid out. Restaurant and Bistro adjacent to each other with fine food and excellent selection of wine. Staff spoke good english and were very helpful. Worth contacting the hotel direct for reservations,

Room Tip: Contact hotel and discuss. Rooms overlooking the Courtyard were excellent. Stairs to first floor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Indeed all our rooms are different : some with a fairly minimalistic decor, some exhuberant, some with a very colourful decor!
Guests can indicate their preference when they arrive, otherwise don't hesitate to see several rooms. Our restaurant staff have also been informed of you delightful comments, à bientôt !?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent a night here while driving north through France to the ferry at Caen. This was the basic room (Ambiance) and did have a rather bare look about it. However, the bed and linens were very good and comfortable as was the shower. We had dinner in the Plantagenet gourmet restaurant (which was very quiet) and again this was extremely good. The dishes were imaginative and very well cooked, though my wife felt that a couple of hers were a bit salty and I thought that both my starter and main course had a star anise flavour - perhaps this is chef's favourite spice or maybe I happened to choose the two that used that spice!
Continental buffet breakfast (at 12.50) seemed a bit expensive, though smoked salmon, ham and salami were on offer.
We were initially a little unhappy at checkout. We had mistakenly thought that we were making food choices that would give us the demi-pension rate (this was hard to find on the website - its on the menu for the Plantagenet restaurant) of +44 euros pppd, but on checkout we found that we should have taken the Croix Blanche menu (25 euros) plus cheese, whereas we had had the four course Formule Découverte des Saveurs at 39 euros. In fact, as I pointed out to the receptionist, the demi-penison rate would appear to be a bit more than the menu plus cheese plus breakfast, but after some discussion, she settled the matter to our satisfaction.
All in all, a very pleasant place to stay when travelling to the ferry ports; we also added it to our list of potentially useful places to stay for a bit longer when visiting the Loire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for adding our hotel to your list of preferred places !
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud

Address: 5-7 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie La Croix Blanche, a charming country house hotel with 23 comfortable, refurbished bed rooms, an outdoor pool, free wifi and car park. Informal atmosphere with excellent welcome and service. Multilingual reception staff. The historic hotel (a coaching inn dating back to 1696) with large flower filled terrace is located in the Loire Valley, France. In the UNESCO world heritage town of Fontevraud you'll find the famous abbey of Fontevraud with the effigies of Richard the Lionheart, Eleanor of Aquitaine and king Henry II. The hotel is close to many Loire Valley castles, wineries and situated on one of the cycle paths of La Loire à Vélo.Two restaurants on site: a gourmet restaurant where chef Hendrik Jansen van der Sligte, will delight you with the best local produce and seasonal ingredients presented in colourful and stylish dishes. The brasserie La Fontaine d'Evraud serves French style bistro food and tapas. Large selection of Loire Valley wines in both restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie La Croix Blanche - Fontevraud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.