We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull find in Rouen!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaboul

Kaboul
65-67 Rue d'Amiens, 76000 Rouen, France
02 35 88 59 44
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 467 Restaurants in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Afghan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Channel Islands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderfull find in Rouen!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here tonight based on some tripadvisor reviews. Never tried Afghan food. Restaurant was decorated with obvious eastern influence. Staff were very efficient and ever so friendly! The food was similar ti Indisn food but more delicately flavoured. We both had a chicken dish , wich was not overly spicey. Portion dize was meduim. We had the sambosa starter which was a type of lamb mince with lentils, it was delicious. Also had a dessert called Farni, which to us was like a cardamon flavoured Panacotta with pistchio nut topping. Except this tasted better than any pannacitta we ever had! House wine was good , decent very smooth. All in all €55 for 3 courses. Wine. Drinks and a small digestiff- again all very good! After a month of travel this was a great experience and we can recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys trying new things!! Overall a great dining experience, we were very tempted to order an extra dessert to go!! It was so good. Sad to see the restaurant empty tho as the tiwn was buzzing!! Off the beatrn path behind the cathedral, well worth seeking out!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Malo, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Real spices and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the charming owner, we ate simple but beautifully prepared and seasoned Afghan food with fresh spices and aromatic herbs.
Food like this is hard to find in France as the French do not like highly spiced food. This restaurant is a real find for anyone who misses the tastes of Indian sub continent.
The whole experience was a joy, do try it if you are in Rouen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at the Kaboul on a very cold, wet night in May and were immediately made very welcome by the owner of the restaurant. The menu is similar, but different to an Asian restaurant that can be found in such places as Bradford, Birmingham and London. I must admit to being a bit of a curry fanatic and was pleasantly surprised by the food that was served. A two course meal for two of us with a bottle of wine was a very impressive forty euros. The starters were well served and delicious and the main courses were equally as good. I had the Afghani and my wife the dahl, both were fragrant rather than hot and neither of us was disappointed.

If you are staying in Rouen, you must try this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fantastic food and really nice atmosphere. Staff were very helpful, although they didn't speak much English and the menus were all in French!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food & value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have been to the Kaboul a number of times and never been disappointed. The 2 menus are both excellent valuye and the food is delicious - you really taste the individual flavours and the food is never heavy. The owner is very helpful when explaining unfamiliar dishes .The restuarant is not easy to find however as it is off the usual tourist trail. But is certainly worth the effort.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaboul also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Kaboul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaboul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.