We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Medieval Town of Rouen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos Jouvenet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos Jouvenet
Save
You added Le Clos Jouvenet to your Saves list
42, rue Hyacinthe Langlois, 76000 Rouen, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Rouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Medieval Town of Rouen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a great 2 day stay in June 2013 at Catherine DeWitt's lovely B&B. The home is a 15 minute walk- only hard to find the very first time- from the historic center. Very quiet property, beautiful, and she and her husband are gracious hosts. She was very helpful with sights and restaurants in town, and allowed us plenty of solitude as well. The breakfast was fantastic- beautiful breads, fresh OJ, tasty jams and excellent coffee. I highly recommend this jewel of a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
105
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a little trouble finding Le Clos Jouvenet because of the narrow one way streets and our mapping program. However, once we found it, and Catherine directed us (backwards) down their driveway, we quickly figured out that we had landed in a fabulous place. The gardens that greet you are magnificent, even on a rainy day in April. The house itself is beautiful, well maintained and beautifully decorated. Catherine showed us a couple of different rooms (we were the only guests there on our first night) and let us pick which one we wanted. We chose the largest one with a king sized bed and a beautiful large bathroom. I loved the decorating, colors and the way everything coordinated. After we settled in, Catherine invited us for an afternoon drink of local cider and we enjoyed a great chat. She gave us recommendations of restaurants and even made our reservation for that evening's dinner. She was so helpful with advice about touring as well. For example, she recommended the local roads instead of the highway to Giverny, which turned out to be a good choice. The house is on a hill and it's a walk into Rouen, but we enjoy walking and appreciated a good walk after all of the wonderful French food and wine we consumed! In the mornings, we enjoyed a great breakfast in the sun porch overlooking the beautiful garden, where Spring was just starting to appear. Catherine (who is Belgian and speaks perfect English) has been in the hospitality/travel business for her career and it showed in every corner of that house. The details and special touches made our stay fantastic. Le Clos Jouvenet was the best B&B we stayed in during our 7 weeks in France!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Catherine de Witte's delightful villa set up the hill above Rouen, steps right out of a Sunday supplement, with its antique furniture and paintings, wooden and tiled floors, little nooks and corners, a large garden with loungers, all pulled together with Farrow and Ball paints and wallpapers. Our room, St Joseph only has a small shower room but we took it because it has a lovely view over the garden to the city. Our bed was very comfortable with crisp linen sheets and square french pillows with a long bolster. The room has a small wardrobe and a kettle, hairdryer, radio, soap, shampoo, fluffy towels and a hot water bottle, though the room was lovely and warm.

The breakfast is typically french - croissants, baguettes, viennoiserie, jams, fresh coffee and tea, fruit, orange juice, cereals and fromage frais.

It's an easy 15 minute walk into the centre of town or 5 minutes to the Metro. Catherine gives you a map and can recommend restaurants. There is an excellent exhibition of impressionist paintings running till July at the Musee des Beaux Arts. There is free wi fi and parking inside the property is accessed from the street at the back. Lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently stayed at Le Clos Jouvenet in picturesque Rouen. Catherine DeWitte & her husband were charming hosts and went out of their way to be helpful. The house & garden is gorgeous and I had a room overlooking the cathedral. The room was beautifully decorated with special touches (like bathrobe) as is the whole house. The French breakfast was generous with delicious croissant & French bread or brioche. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the cathedral & garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed last year and I have been meaning to do this review for sometime. We just loved this beautiful house, the fantastic décor and friendliness of Catherine and her husband. This was, without doubt the most impressive place we have stayed in France. Staying here is like being invited to stay with friends in a grand home for a few days. Thank you Catherine I am sure you remember us and we look forward to seeing you in Sydney one day!

Room Tip: Book early it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hubbie and I recently spent three nights at Le Clos Jouvenet, in the very charming city of Rouen. This is one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in. The house is a gracious 19th century property with beautiful gardens, and Mme DeWitte has decorated the house exquisitely. We had a very comfortable and spacious ensuite room on the second floor. It didn't have a TV but that was fine by me. There was a cosy lounge area for guests on the first floor where we could hang out with their very friendly cat Lilou and catch up on email (wifi signal was stronger here than in our room). Breakfast was delicious -not just coffee and croissants but cereals, yogurt, cheese, a variety of breads, fresh fruit, and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Plenty for us and served in a lovely conservatory overlooking the garden.M. et Mme DeWitte were extremely hospitable and helpful - they really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and easy. For instance, we were travelling by train and there are no left luggage lockers at the station, so Mme DeWitte arranged for us to be able to leave our luggage at a hotel across the street from the station while we had a last few hours of sightseeing. The neighbourhood is on a hill overlooking the city with lovely views. It is about a 20 minute walk from the city centre, uphill but it was not a difficult walk. It is a quiet area with some convenient shops. Rouen is a very friendly city steeped in history, and staying at Le Clos Jouvenet made our trip doubly satisfying. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was the first time my husband and I have stayed at a B&B - thinking it was the right time and place to try it. We searched TripAdvisor for hours looking for the right fit for us. We were highly pleased and Le Clos Jouvenet has set the bar high for sure.

Catherine is highly responsive (via email and in person) and a pleasure to talk with. Her home that she's opened for the B&B is absolutely lovely and well maintained. Comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was simple and delicious. My husband especially loved her baked apples. Our room was well aquianted and bathrooms large with excellent tub/shower. We slept very well and also enjoyed giving a good scratching to their gracious kitty.

It was easy to find using GPS and Catherine's instructions. Was really nice to be able to leave our car in their parking area safe and sound while we explored the town for the day on foot.

Would highly recommend it, especially to explore the area.

Room Tip: My husband and I really enjoyed the 'Verger' room. Great bathtub as well if you like that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos Jouvenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Jouvenet

Address: 42, rue Hyacinthe Langlois, 76000 Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heaven of peace a few minutes from the Cathedral of Rouen. Four elegant rooms in a nineteenth century town house set in a delightful garden amidst tranquil surroundings. Parking on the grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Clos Jouvenet Hotel Rouen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos Jouvenet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.