We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located simple boutique hotel, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Dandy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Dandy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Dandy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 rue Cauchoise, 76000 Rouen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 hotels in Rouen
Japan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Well-located simple boutique hotel, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is well located, in a pedestrian street, and just 3 minutes from one of the main place in the old town. The river Seine is nearby, too. The building is from the 19th century, but has had a lot of work done on it. Rooms are small but comfy, all nicely decorated. The 4th floor is under the roof, and the ceiling is lower, but the view is nicer.
The staff was very nice, helpful and dedicated. They suggested great restaurants. There was a temporary problem with the (free) wifi, but it was quickly fixed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
34
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We chose this hotel for price and location. Arrived by cab but were getting a car. Parking in nearby underground garage for reasonable price (11 Euros for 24 hours). We knew about parking arrangements before arriving. Hotel is clean, well furnished. Our bed was very comfy. Bathroom slightly dated but everything functioned just fine. Our room faced the front - a pedestrian friendly street with half timbered buildings, very convenient to Vieux Marche, restaurants, and sights. I initially thought the rooms might be noisy but we never heard a sound at night so either nearby guests were very quiet or the soundproofing was better than I thought. The rooms don't have individual heat control. A very small soap bar was provided at the sink, bath gel for the shower. Water was hot enough, water pressure fair. There was a hair dryer. There is an annex with additional rooms. We didn't see them. Breakfast was 13 Euros and was OK, canned fruit cup, cold hard boiled eggs, pastry, croissants, breads, yogurt. It's served in a lovely dining room behind reception. The elevator is very tiny - one suitcase at a time fits, but at least you don't have to carry them up the stairs. Vincent, the manager, there most evenings, was very pleasant. He was very helpful with restaurant suggestions, directions, etc. The day reception man was not so pleasant, never a smile or greeting, not too helpful. I was disappointed to see that there was a 1 Euro 50 charge for using the in room coffee machine. When I asked for milk to go with the coffee from this machine, I was told "no". Would I stay here again - absolutely. The quirky little problems were worth the great location and good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and daughter stayed at this hotel on a short sight-seeing trip to Rouen and environs in May. They found it very good value for their needs. Hotel has been renovated in excellent taste. They particularly admired the gilt and mirror Louis XV-style furniture. Bed very comfortable. Great view from their room on the top floor, though the sloping roof/ceiling might not suit very tall people. Breakfasts first rate. Staff most welcoming and friendly. Location perfect for exploring town and restaurants. . Wi fi in eooms weak, but lobby worked well in lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took a punt on this hotel, as it looked quirky, but it turned out to be a bad bet. On the plus side, it is very central and has parking (don't try and park on the street in central Rouen - nightmare!). That's it though. Our room (in the annexe, always a bad sign) had not been refurbished, so had a rock-hard bed and a pink shell-shaped bathroom suite older than I am. The bed had a rubber sheet (so nice that they expect their guests to be incontinent) so a sweaty, uncomfortable night was had by all. To top it off, the walls are paper thin, so we were woken in the middle of the night by late-arriving guests in the next room. You could literally hear the zip on their suitcase through the wall, it was that bad. The receptionist was grumpy and unwelcoming, which didn't help matters. While fairly cheap, it wasn't cheap enough to justify staying there. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A little disappointed with our superior room. It smelt as if someone has been smoking in it. Very noisy in the night from local bar/club. The location is very convenient for sight-seeing, eating etc. Room was very warm and access was difficult. Staff were friendly and welcoming.Fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Used as a stopover on the way home from Vendee. First impressions were poor. The immediate vicinity of the hotel is pretty seedy and the reception guy wasn't exactly welcoming. Also- there is no parking- you have to use the nearby underground carpark which also looked very dodgy- but turned out to be ok, and 10 Euros for 24Hrs. Beware the low ceiling height if you have a vehicle over 1.9m high or a roofbox- you'll have to find somewhere else to park and again- the immediate area is a bit dodgy looking, but you're only a 2 min walk from the nicer parts of Rouen- which is worth a visit.

Onto the room itself: It's spotlessly clean, which is a bonus in France, but it was very dated. Our room had a bath with a shower attachment but no wall bracket for the shower head. Breakfast looked pretty cheap and basic, but was 11 Euros, plus they wanted 1.50 for the in room coffee pods. Considering the room was 108 Euro with no parking, this is pretty poor value- a bit of a ripoff overall and I would not recommend this place at all- Rouen must have better places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August with our 18mth old. We found the hotel quite easily with the use of sat nav and the parking was really secure which was good for us as we had so much stuff with us. The room was charming and very comfortable with a fan provided (as it was quite hot). It was great to have a fridge (meant we were able to store milk for the little one) and after two weeks in France it was the first place to offer coffee making facilities in the room for which we were v grateful! Location was excellent for getting to the sights - just a short walk to the old market square. Staff spoke great English and were very welcoming. In addition, we managed to leave behind two coats which they very kindly posted back to us in England.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Dandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dandy

Address: 93 rue Cauchoise, 76000 Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Dandy 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Dandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dandy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Dandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.