We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good 2 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Cardinal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel le Cardinal
Save Saved
You added Hotel le Cardinal to your Saves list
1 Place de la Cathedrale, 76000 Rouen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very good 2 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It enjoys a wonderful location in Place de la Cathedrale with the cathedral in full view out the window maybe a 100 metres away. The Rue de la Grosse Horloge begins in this Place and this takes you down to the Place de Vieux Marche where Joan of Arc was burned at the stake. You can park in the Place de la haute Vieille Tour about 150 metres away. It was a very big room by French standards and had two windows. It was beautiful and clean with a nice shower and bathroom, everything was spick and span. The proprietor was a very nice man. Be aware that this like most hotels of this standard in Rouen has no one on desk after 8 p.m. We saw a couple outside another hotel who were very disappointed in this regard. The price was about €95 for the double and maybe a bit pricey for a 2 star but this is France and Rouen. We did not book the breakfast which we felt might be not good value at €8. We had seen a restaurant 100 metres away advertising a breakfast for €2.80 so we tried it our and while a bit skimpy it did the job; this is a good tip for most big towns in France. There may be a little noise in this square at night but it is a city centre location and you are liable to get late night revellers at times. I would go back to this hotel, no problem.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the square, it is an exceptional view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    50
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
64
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed one night in a corner room next to the breakfast room. The spotless room exceeded expectations! Huge by French standards, modern, bright, cable tv, large bath and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delightful and filling. (The owner's friendly cat visited when beckoned, but was not a pest. Loved it!) Nearby parking was under ground at a nominal fee. The owner's were engaging and helpful. The hotel is at the centre of the sight seeing action in Rouen and would stay again. Close to shops and restaurants. Excellent value for money. Look no further when staying in Rouen!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here. We actually thought it was a 3 star hotel and were surprised upon our arrival to learn it was a 2 star. The proprieter upgraded us to a larger room( the lift goes as far as the 4th floor and there were some steps to the 5th but it was easy.) We were helped with our luggage so there were no difficulties. Our room was large, bright, spotlessly clean with a large renovated bathroom with a walk-in shower. We had a partial view of the beautiful cathedral and large windows with rooftop views. The owners went out of their way for us: making dinner reservations, giving directions, and generally being alert to our needs. It was ideally located to see the major Rouen sights and experience the energy of the City. We recommend it. In every way it was equal to most 3 star hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you don't mind some steps the loft like room on the 5th floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We couldn't get enough of the view! We also loved hearing the bells every hour! (they do stop at 10:00 pm) Hotel was very clean and our room, I think it was room 10, was roomy. The bathrooms have been updated and were very nice. It was a bit frustrating when we arrived at 1:30 pm and the hotel was locked with a note that they would return at 1:00. We decided to eat next door while we waited and had to figure out what to do with our luggage. Other than that, we had a great stay! We would definantly stay again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Parking is located close by, approx 10 euros for overnight in an underground carpark. We were able to locate the hotel easily as it is situated just in front of the Cathedral in the main square. The sign as you go in states 2 stars so I wasn't expecting very much. The rate was 160 euros a night excluding breakfast, more than I would normally pay for one night, however we were last minute in finding accommodation for the night. We were placed on the 4th floor. As you enter the room it does have a 'wow' factor, it's clean, wooden floors, TV, shower, two balconies with exceptional views over the square/cathedral. It has the look and feel of an apartment. There are table/chairs and deck chairs on the balcony which is great if you want to bring along your own food/drink. (Just remember a bottle opener as all French wines are still corks). The only let down was breakfast in the morning based on the first floor. The spread laid on is very basic and then a grey cat walked out across the breakfast area. This really put me off my breakfast and I find it unacceptable to have an animal in the eating area unsupervised. Breakfast is also 9 euros a head. At Midnight there was a Cathedral light/music show which was very cool to watch and see whilst sitting in bed. If you don't like loud noises, the cathedral bells ring often and the music played for at least 2 hours, then this place is not for you. The windows did block most of the sound though.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th Floor, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a lovely, wonderful, newly renovated hotel that is spotlessly clean and has beautiful bedlinens. The bed was also new and very comfortable. Unfortunately, it is in Rouen, a city that is worth skipping if you are sightseeing in France. And don't try to go on a Friday afternoon in rush hour. If you can locate the street, (even with GPS) you can drive up to the front and drop off your luggage. My advice is that you park at the Hotel de Ville municipal parking garage and walk about 10-15 minutes down towards the hotel. Herve, the owner, is very low key and friendly. The petit dejeuner was also lovely in a small room on the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel le Cardinal is a little gem. I was on the 4th floor, with a view of the cathedral that made me laugh out loud, it was so beautiful. M. and Mme. Waroquet, the innkeepers, were gracious and helpful. The funny little elevator was much appreciated (funny in that it is tiny, and one enters by one door and exits by another). The hotel is not fancy, but it was scrupulously clean and fresh and a very good value for the money. The cafe downstairs, apparently a favorite of Simone de Beauvoir, was also excellent. I wasn't sure how far the hotel was going to be from the train station, so I took a cab, which was totally unnecessary. I walked back the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cardinal

Address: 1 Place de la Cathedrale, 76000 Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rouen
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rouen
#9 Business Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cardinal standing at the heart of old Rouen. The hotel is cozy to make you feel comfortable and simply decorated so as not to detract from the Cathedral opposite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Cardinal Hotel
Le Cardinal Rouen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Cardinal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.