We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Cardinal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel le Cardinal
Save
You added Hotel le Cardinal to your Saves list
1 Place de la Cathedrale, 76000 Rouen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location, exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Parking is located close by, approx 10 euros for overnight in an underground carpark. We were able to locate the hotel easily as it is situated just in front of the Cathedral in the main square. The sign as you go in states 2 stars so I wasn't expecting very much. The rate was 160 euros a night excluding breakfast, more than I would normally pay for one night, however we were last minute in finding accommodation for the night. We were placed on the 4th floor. As you enter the room it does have a 'wow' factor, it's clean, wooden floors, TV, shower, two balconies with exceptional views over the square/cathedral. It has the look and feel of an apartment. There are table/chairs and deck chairs on the balcony which is great if you want to bring along your own food/drink. (Just remember a bottle opener as all French wines are still corks). The only let down was breakfast in the morning based on the first floor. The spread laid on is very basic and then a grey cat walked out across the breakfast area. This really put me off my breakfast and I find it unacceptable to have an animal in the eating area unsupervised. Breakfast is also 9 euros a head. At Midnight there was a Cathedral light/music show which was very cool to watch and see whilst sitting in bed. If you don't like loud noises, the cathedral bells ring often and the music played for at least 2 hours, then this place is not for you. The windows did block most of the sound though.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th Floor, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    51
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
68
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a lovely, wonderful, newly renovated hotel that is spotlessly clean and has beautiful bedlinens. The bed was also new and very comfortable. Unfortunately, it is in Rouen, a city that is worth skipping if you are sightseeing in France. And don't try to go on a Friday afternoon in rush hour. If you can locate the street, (even with GPS) you can drive up to the front and drop off your luggage. My advice is that you park at the Hotel de Ville municipal parking garage and walk about 10-15 minutes down towards the hotel. Herve, the owner, is very low key and friendly. The petit dejeuner was also lovely in a small room on the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel le Cardinal is a little gem. I was on the 4th floor, with a view of the cathedral that made me laugh out loud, it was so beautiful. M. and Mme. Waroquet, the innkeepers, were gracious and helpful. The funny little elevator was much appreciated (funny in that it is tiny, and one enters by one door and exits by another). The hotel is not fancy, but it was scrupulously clean and fresh and a very good value for the money. The cafe downstairs, apparently a favorite of Simone de Beauvoir, was also excellent. I wasn't sure how far the hotel was going to be from the train station, so I took a cab, which was totally unnecessary. I walked back the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay in Rouen. It's seems very safe and our room was clean and adequate for the price. The best thing about the hotel is the location. Our room overlooked the Cathedral Square (a spectacular view of the church painted by Monet), and was walking distance to shopping and dining. I had a little trouble finding a place to park. We parked in a deck a couple of blocks away and lugged our luggage to the hotel, but this was as much my fault as anything. The streets are very old, small, and usually one way. It was a little hard to navigate...even with a GPS! That said, Rouen is certainly worth the stop and this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ideally situated in the cathedral square, there was a very warm welcome from Herve and Nathalie Waroquet.

The suite, on the 4th floor, with terrace, afforded excellent, elegant and very reasonably-priced accommodation and the most stunning views from its double aspect windows.

Probably the best-kept hotel I have stayed in.

All the attractive parts of the old city were within walking distance as well as very adjacent eateries of high quality. (On one side of the entrance was the Paul brasserie, on the other two first-rate eateries.)

A great city to explore; a first-rate hotel from which to do it.

Top marks, Herve and Nathalie!!

Tim Allen

Room Tip: The suite!! Stunningly attractive, double-aspect balconies to use in clement months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunmow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we arrived all seemed ok but then only 1 pillow each no tea facilities and rooms very basic for 95 euro the owners woke us at 08.00 telling us to bring the seat in off the balcony or they woukd charge us
Hardly slept room was hot and blinds did not work avoid avoid avoid

Room Tip: Dont go hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herve w, Propriétaire at Hotel le Cardinal, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Bonjour Monsieur,

First of all , on arrival we always propose to see the room before check in, and that's what we did.
You told me that the room was very nice ..., at this time i never oblige you to take the room !
You also can have extra pillows and tea on request !
Blinds works very well , every thing in the room was new, the very comfortable bed too.

But the real problem is that , for you it's very normal and usual to put under the rain ( it have been raining all night long), and expensive leather chair !!!! (witch have been damage)
Will you did that at home ? i am note very sure !
That's what you call french arrogance ?
For me its french "savoir vivre" !! and i am sure that you do not have any !

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The place is perfectly located in the heart of Rouen immediately beside the Cathedral Notre-Dame de Rouen made famous by Claude Monet. The Gros Horloge street begins in front of the Cathedrale and goes all the way to the Jeanne D'arc church and town market. Room were good and the clock tower does not ring at night. Windows are sound proofed and the breakfast (9Euros extra) is delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms can see the Cathedral so then you can choose for size. Upstairs they have suite with small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cardinal

Address: 1 Place de la Cathedrale, 76000 Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rouen
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rouen
#8 Business Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cardinal standing at the heart of old Rouen. The hotel is cozy to make you feel comfortable and simply decorated so as not to detract from the Cathedral opposite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Cardinal Hotel
Le Cardinal Rouen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Cardinal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.