We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stained glass” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church of St. Joan of Arc

Church of St. Joan of Arc
Place du Vieux-Marche, Rouen, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 38 Attractions in Rouen
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1979 masterpiece of modern minimalist architecture, this dramatic church is meant to symbolize the search for 'absolute geometrical purity.'
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stained glass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Quite different from any other cathedral you may visit. Exterior design takes a while to like but inside is certainly worth seeing.
We spent a good 15 mins just sitting and admiring.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    121
    42
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“cool architecture, free entry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a very interestingly designed church. Straight out of the 70s, it's worth a visit, and like most churches, entry is free. You will be amazed at the wooden ceilings. It only takes a few minutes to see it so stop by!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
710 reviews 710 reviews
397 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
“Lovely modern structure, incorporating Renaissance stained glass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I am not too often a fan of modern church architecture, but this church won me over. From the outside it makes me think of a large ship. The inside, with the odd shape and most of the base below street level, works somehow. It doesn't hurt that they re-purposed some lovely 16th century stained glass from a church that was destroyed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simple and elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Church dedicated to Joan of Arc - modern architecture with impressive bowed roof. Not normally a fan of modern churches I liked this one.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Unusual church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

What a very modern, very different church. At first I thought I wasn't going to like it because of the modern design but once inside it was just as inspiring and peaceful as any other older church. We also had the added pleasure of a choir practicing, very pure young voices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of St. Joan of Arc also viewed

 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Church of St. Joan of Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of St. Joan of Arc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.