We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ouen's Abbey

St. Ouen's Abbey
Place du General de Gaulle, 25 | BP666, 76000 Rouen, France
2 32 08 32 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 65 things to do in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large 16th century church surrounded by beautiful stained glass windows.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stumbled upon this walking into the city, and what a beautiful surprise. Light and airy with amazing stained glass windows. Our biggest treat was an unexpected organ practice- thunderingly spectacular whilst in a semi deserted abbey.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is still open in December. Best views are from the very top of the garden (not very much of a walk!) on the "balcony/verandah". Truly quiet, makes you wish you had been a Monk here!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting to look at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Interesting to look at, especially on the outside. Spacious and not much on the inside. I wouldn't recommend going out of the way to see this. Like many old places, could use cleaning on the outside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

With only a few hours the morning before our ship departed, we decided to go to the Abbey, having seen it from our Petit Train tour the day before. The gardens are expansive and lovely. The abbey is large and well preserved inside, you can still see some of the paint on the ceilings and moldings. Decorated with a variety of large paintings, if you enjoy artwork, give yourself time to examine these. There are CDs on sale from concerts held in the abbey. My mom bought one and loves it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely Abbey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Beautiful and really great to walk around. Was extremely cold on the inside - thank goodness we already had our jackets on.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Ouen's Abbey also viewed

 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to St. Ouen's Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ouen's Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.