We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale to your Saves list
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Croix de Fer | Rue St Nicolas, 76000 Rouen, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location but still quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful, Rooms are well laid out and comfortable.
One gripe is bath drain clogged with other peoples hair.
Otherwise would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    454
    143
    31
    13
See reviews for
129
403
53
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, right next to the cathedral and in the middle of everything. We stayed in a suite as the sofa bed was perfect for my son to sleep in. The room was a decent size and was very comfortable. We also had. Large shared balcony where you could see the cathedral.

The Car park is a little pricey and a. Bit scary getting in and out of if you have a large car. Once you are underground it is relatively easy parking, although it can get a bit busy.

As usual in hotels the breakfast is a rip off. We had the express breakfast one morning for €8 which was essentially. Half a glass of orange juice, a tiny croissant and a coffee. The full breakfast costs twice as much. I would recommend you walk round the corner where there is a multitude of places serving much more for much less.

Stay in this hotel for comfort and location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is very difficult to find. GPS is somewhat useless is Rouen as many streets are small and one-way. The street signage for turning onto the street where the hotel is located is poor. Once you finally know where you are going, everything is fine. The hotel is in the middle of everything that goes on in the city.

Rouen is somewhat sleepy - it seemed that stores were closed until the afternoon, then only open until 19:00 or so. The best place to find a restaurant is in the Old Market area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We started our two week trip in France with a night at the Mercure in Rouen. It is perfectly situated, close to everything. Our room had an excellent cathedral view. I probably would have given the Mercure 5 stars except for two things: the first of which is that the windows were so muddy that it detracted greatly from the view. The second is that they could easily post on their website how to access their car park which seems to be a recurring nightmare for TripAdvisor travelers. Here is how to do it: Take D6015 to Rue Jeanne d'Arc, turn right. At Rue aux Juifs (looks pedestrianized but it is for cars also) turn right again. Rue aux Juifs ends at Rue des Carmes, turn left. Then turn right immediately onto Rue Saint Nicholas. There will be some posts blocking the street, the center one will be the largest--a thick cylindrical post about 3 feet tall. Slowly drive toward that large post and it will retract into the pavement! (I had to go inside to find this out. Should be posted on the website.) Once you drive over the post the car park entrance is immediately on your right. Push the buzzer for entry. Due to the one-way and the pedestrianized streets, there is no other way to access this garage. But it is large enough for medium-sized cars and it is free with your room rate. There room was large and well-appointed with a very comfy bed. The cathedral bells were not loud and were not a problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a cathedral view room - the room did not face the cathedral but looking down/across the street, one saw the top of the cathedral. A shared balcony gave a great view but also meant could look into other rooms! Small rooms but not atypical for Europe but not much room for suitcases etc. Room comfortable and the location was great. In the middle of old Rouen which was much more extensive than I had expected with great shops, bars close at hand. We loved finding our breakfast in different places - down by the market beside the Joan of Arc Church my favourite. Hotel is about 20 min walk from Rouen station. Great day trip to Monet's garden hiring bikes at bar outside Vernon train station to ride to Givenchy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have used the Centre Cathedrale a number of times before and always received courteous service. The hotel's central location next door to Rouen Cathedral is excellent, also close to bistros and shops.The one major draw back is that I arrived last Sunday evening and the hotel does not provide any form of food to residents on weekend evenings. Similarly I was working on my lap top in the Hotel lounge the following day, a Monday lunchtime, and again the hotel could only provide hot or cold drinks but no food snacks. Reception staff suggested I went outside the hotel and bought a snack which I could then consume in the hotel lounge. Which I did, getting very wet in the process from a heavy downpour of french rain!
It is unfortunate that a quality hotel cannot match its grading and room pricing by providing a general food service. I gather there is weekday room service but why not in the lounge.

The consolation is that the breakfast spread is excellent with good friendly bi lingual staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer | Rue St Nicolas, 76000 Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#4 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.