We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting menu, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gill Cote Bistro

Gill Cote Bistro
14 place du Vieux Marche, 76000 Rouen, France
02 35 89 88 72
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 471 Restaurants in Rouen
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

The menu may be small but the tastes were delicious. Encouraged by the staff to try things out of the ordinary, we had a tomato tart, guinea fowl, a sausage with herbs and pistachio nuts, a pork chittling sausage, a memorable white cheese and red berry dessert as well as a mixture of ice creams and sorbets. Staff were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    68
    36
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

You can split the chocolate dessert, it is very large, very rich, and very good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value for money, small but tasteful menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Visiting the city of Rouen for the first time, we searched for a simple meal and found this bistro to be both tasteful in food and in atmosphere. The restaurant is small, as is the menu, but everything on it seemed very nice. The 'fish of the day' we ate consisted of a nice, thick piece of filet. The price was correct and the service was fluent and friendly. the terras in front has a view on the church of Jeanne d'Arc on the Vieux Marché

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Deluxe Bistrot downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I ve just finished my "Normandy Tour" at the Gill's Bistrot,
Was Great, a sunny sunday next to the "Place du Vieux Marché" little restaurant but efficient, Soups, Salads, fresh meat & fish, was unexpected here...
Expensive but the quality is here and we can feel there is a real chef at work.
I recommend!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best dinner of our 3 week trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

After leaving a very poor restaurant in Rouen (no service) we stumbled on this place and it was the big surprise of our 3 week trip to France. The service was outstanding and the food was very, very delicious. Everyone made us feel at home and when out waitress could not translate some of the items on the menu, she enlisted the help of another waitress who made the evening fun and memorable. If you're in Rouen, seek this place out. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gill Cote Bistro also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Gill Cote Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gill Cote Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.