We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Boulangerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Boulangerie
59, rue Saint-Nicaise, 76000 Rouen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Rouen B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cute room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

La Boulangerie is a small B&B located on narrow medieval streets, but our Garmin took us right there. Even though we had agreed on an arrival time with the host, there was no one there when we arrived. We were lucky to find street parking a few blocks away. Later when we came back, we saw a small sign taped to a window (not the front door) telling us to knock on the door of the house around the corner. After this rocky start, we were delighted with our stay. We stayed in the Bear Claw room on the top floor (pack light--tiny, winding steps up!). It was large, clean and thoughtfully furnished. Beware of the exposed rafters; we wrapped sweaters around them in case we forgot in the middle of the night. The B& B is a few blocks walk to the Cathedral and market. We were blown away by all the half-timbered buildings in Rouen. Breakfast the next morning was yummy. A great start of our vacation.

Room Tip: Pack light if you choose Bear Claw on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
75
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Salem, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This informal but lovingly run B&B has unique charm and makes you feel like a local resident. A beautiful and delicious breakfast was provided in the shop itself (which really does sell bread and bonbons!). The owner, moreover, is gracious, interesting, and friendly without being overbearing. A joyous visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

1. La Boulangerie is located in a residential neighborhood in a half-timber building. You get a real sense of what it is like to live in Rouen.
2. It is within walking distance of restaurants, cathedrals, wonderful shops and the site where Joan of Arc was burned at the stake.
3. The rooms are comfortable, immaculate and impeccably appointed.
4. Breakfast: Wow! Not only delicious but served in an actual boulangerie.
5. The price is right. (shhhh...)
6. Lastly, and most importantly, Aminata! A more charming person could not possibly exist!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a one night stay in La Boulangerie in Rouen and I can honestly say it was a major determinant of why we enjoyed the town so much. The accommodation is really unique, decorated by someone with a stylish eye, and the breakfast was delicious! In addition, Aminata is a wonderful host. We have travelled a lot and the hospitality she provided was some of the best I have experienced. We will definitely be back - I can't recommend La Boulangerie highly enough!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very lovely and spacious room with wooden beams on all walls and ceilings (Levain room), old style furniture and great attention to detail. And on top of this you get a great wifi connection and an alarm clock on which you can charge your ipod and iphone and play your music! A perfect combination of old and new!
The breakfast was copious and delicious including fresh bread, croissants and pains au chocolat from a local bakery, home-made jams, organic yoghurts, orange juice and a variety of hot drinks (3 types of hot chocolate available!). The breakfast is served in the old bakery where I used to buy sweets as a kid - and you can still buy sweets!!
And let's not forget the very warm welcome from Aminata!
It goes without saying that I will be back and I recommend this lovely B&B to anyone looking for authenticity in this beautiful historical city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here with my family in July and it was absolutely gorgeous, we felt so fortunate to have such a wonderful host in Aminata who looked after us attentively, and produced a delicious charming French breakfast in the morning. Our rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable and the decor was so lovely. We loved our stay at la boulangerie and would very highly recommend staying here for any traveller looking for a welcoming, cosy and traditional French experience! Thank you so much Aminata!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two to rooms, both lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Aminata was a wonderful hostess, she helped us with parking our car, which is hard to do in Rouen. I would recommend not bringing a car to Rouen, unless you're doing a lot of day trips. We stayed in the family room, although we didn't use the second room because we were only two. It felt like being in a home. The B&B is in a good location, not right in town centre, but not far away. Breakfast was more than ample, we never finished everything we were given. Really unique and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boulangerie

Address: 59, rue Saint-Nicaise, 76000 Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boulangerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Boulangerie to your Saves list