We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend January.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Boulangerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Boulangerie
Save
You added La Boulangerie to your Saves list
59, rue Saint-Nicaise, 76000 Rouen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Rouen B&B and Inns
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“long weekend January.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful,what more can i say..Aminata is a fantastic host ....even down to carrying our heavy luggage up and down those winding stairs.Crisp white linen,clean warm room (with extra heater if you really need)tea making facilities,as much hot water to fill the huge bath....just super.
We arrived just before 12th night,across the street was the most breath taking house decorated with Christmas lights teddy bear grotto's, miniature steam train and a hot air balloon that fell down to the ground ...loved it.
This was our second visit so we know that its always to a high standard. Dont need to tell you about the beautiful streets where it is situated as others have already said...Dont worry about your car parking as Aminata looks after you...Thank you once again Aminata will see you in September.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
87
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Boulangerie at the end of October and we had a lovely time. Rouen was quite cold during our stay, but it was always warm back at La Boulangerie. Aminata could'nt do enough to help you, she even reserved a table at a restaurant for us. I would recommend La Boulangerie to anyone thinking of staying in Rouen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying for 4 nghts in the small hotel La Boulangerie.
The hotel is very well located being within easy walking of the river-side, the restaurants and the centre of town.
We were warmly-welcomed by our Aminata our hostess. Aminata was generous with her time, advice and guidance and did everything possible to make our stay pleasurable.
Our room was very comfortable, quiet and clean and was spacious enough.
The free wifi worked without difficulty.
We much enjoyed eating our petit dejeuner in the boulangerie.
Petit dejeuner was excellent with a choice of sophisticated teas and generous bread and pastries. Nice jams too!
Rouen itself has a wide variety of shops, restaurants and places to visit. We also took the train to Paris for the day - just over an hour each way and easily bookable through SNCF on-line and only 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

In summary, we had an excellent time and will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group stayed in two rooms on October 14th and loved it. The surrounding streets are quiet and it is a lovely walk into the center of town. The rooms have lots of nice details and comfy beds and we loved the quirky, charming accents. The hosts were welcoming and the thought of everything. They even called us a cab. Moreover, the breakfast was wonderful. I highly recommend Rouen as an overnight stop and La Boulangerie as your B & B--you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I chose this b&b following Trip Advisor rating, and I was not disapointed.The location is ideal for visiting this historic city, being only a short walk from the centre, on the subject of walking it would appear that the residents of Rouen have lots of dogs(or perhaps one that eats a lot) and a shortage of bags to collect thier processed food, BE CAREFULL where you walk, checking the soles of your shoes appears to be a local pastime.Back to the boulongerie, Aminata is a wonderful host providing a simple but delicious breakfast, the rooms are clean and unusual with the bath in the bedroom.The stairs would be a problem for the less able, and the bedrooms would benefit from some better lighting if you wanted to read or prepare for an evening out.
Rouen is a big city with the historic parts mixed with the modern, I am glad that I have been, but would choose honfleur if I went to Normandy again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We headed to Rouen after a couple of days in Reim and found this unique "Chocolat" style of place to stay. Such a lovely room, bed and the breakfast, well I would certainly travel there agin, just for the jams - all home made with love. The accommodation is above a charming boulangiere/team shop. Truly a great spot and wonderful city.
Look no further if you are heading to the city of Joan of Arc....

Room Tip: The one at the top of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in this delightful room. It was spotlessly clean and very charming with a separate toilet and a very comfortable bed. The spiral staircase needs to be treated warily but once up there it is a little haven in a wonderful city. It is located about a 10 minute walk from the main attractions and is in an area of historic half timbered houses. The breakfast is as we have had elsewhere in France - bakery items, fruit juice, yoghurt, preserves, and tea, coffee or chocolate. The best part of this accommodation though is Aminata who spoke good English, ensured parking for us in the narrow streets, and was so warm and genuinely helpful. She even ordered a pizza delivery for us when we returned from a long day trip to the Normandy beaches. I understand why this is rated as number one in Rouen. Aminata deserves it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boulangerie

Address: 59, rue Saint-Nicaise, 76000 Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boulangerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.