We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel, perfect location, nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vent d'Ouest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vent d'Ouest to your Saves list
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Caligny, 76600 Le Havre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Le Havre
Normandy, France
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel, perfect location, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The smallish hotel is located just on the edge of the city center and close to the beach and harbors. Shops and restaurants are a minute or two walking distance.

Rooms are not very spacious but well done and good appointed. Despite being next to a busy road, no sound penetrates ino the room.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. It is truly a very nice hotel to come back to.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
49
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel, but the room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. We had no noticeable outside noise. The breakfast, which was self serve, was the most delicious hotel breakfast we had while in France. There was an excellent selection of pastries, fruit, cheeses and meats and the highlight was the fresh squeezed orange juice. I wish we had been able to stay more than one night. The hotel location is very convenient. Since we were visiting with friends during our stay, we had access to a car and didn't need to use public transportation so I can't comment on that. There is a lovely church within walking distance to the hotel and it is located within a few blocks of the train station.
The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived at the hotel early and were able to store our luggage in a store room until we checked in later that evening.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were disappointed during our recent 2 night stay due to the fact that the spa is still being refurbished. Grading would have been higher if we could have tried that out. Staff were friendly and hotel was clean and comfortable despite the other renovation works. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on that. Some small negatives: TV had only one English language channel and that a rather limited European station; Wifi worked near the door of the room but not at the desk; Tea and coffee were not replenished after 1st day; only Earl Grey tea; no milk; only 4 coat hangers - OK for a couple of night but not for a longer stay with more clothes. All in all a bit of a disappointment and rather pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Centrally located, this nautically-themed hotel was just right for my 2 day stay. Management apology for any noise from the large-scale renovations/building of a spa were rather worrying, but in fact I never heard a thing. Liked the decor - good sized room and very generous bathroom.
Excellent breakfast and very helpful and kind staff. Only carp would be thin, undersized towels, and very tatty carpet on stairs, but I expect this latter will be remedied when the building works are finished, as everything else was neat and smart. Handy for the mouthwatering market in Les Halles, beach, port and very good restaurants etc.

Room Tip: My "Admiral" room looked out over St Joseph's - a post-war, soaring, amazing buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zedelgem, Belgium
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A nice surprise, very nice hotel with design, nice room, only the bathroom was a bit small, room 304. Staff very friendly, room service was good. Breakfast buffet very good with all you need and fresh orange juice! Only missing a good italian coffee! Free wifi with good connection.

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having read the superb reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a room for two (and our dog!) here and at every turn, we were pleased. From the initial contact on the phone and subsequent confirming emails prior to arrival, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful and quite patient with my French (although i imagine they all speak English fluently). Upon arrival, everything was as promised and the room was charming and impeccably clean. The bed was excellent, the linens lovely. Flat screen TV with wide selection of channels and a feature we loved, a mecanized roll-down metal shutter over the window that made late sleeping a breeze. Great attention to detail that gave a sense of well-being to our time at the hotel. We requested and promptly received an extra down comforter for our bed.

The all you can eat Breakfast the next morning was also superb. Croissants, pain chocolat, delicious breads, fresh squeezed OJ to die for, meats, fresh fruit etc. (Breakfast, i believe is 12 Euro each).

In sum, it was a great experience and I encourage anyone who is looking for a clean, lovely, welcoming hotel to try this one. They are in the process of constructing a spa on the premises. Which reminds me that there is construction going on -- we were spared thanks to being there on a holiday but if you're going, do inquire as to the effect that will have on your stay. Also, something we encountered which we never had before (I don't think this happens in the U.S. or not often at least) is that after a certain hour (perhaps 11:00 PM), the front desk closes and entry into the hotel is by code. I am not sure if there are provisions made for an emergency contact but I would imagine there must be. Still, worth checking perhaps.

Room Tip: There is also construction in process as to the elevator, so check your floor location if the steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this charming hotel while looking for a place to celebrate our wedding...
Everything was excellent! we booked the Admiral room, and 8 other standard rooms for our guests. It was the first time the hotel organises a wedding in their premises, and we felt so lucky to be the first!

The rooms are extremely charming, well decorated, and the personnel is just fabulous and very attentive to the guests. A huge change from the grumpy faces in Paris.

The lunch was amazing, and the cuisine very refined.The hotel is located a few hundred meters from the see, and just 5 min by taxi from the main train station. It's a 5 min walk from the city center.

No need to mention how immaculately clean it was, and how warm you feel inside. It was a great choice for us to spend 3 nights there, before and after our wedding in Le Havre. You simply cannot do better in the city. If you are looking for warmth, it's the place.

Room Tip: In addition to the rooms, they have appartment studios for rent. Too bad they were all taken when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vent d'Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vent d'Ouest

Address: 4 rue Caligny, 76600 Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vent d'Ouest 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vent d'Ouest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vent d Ouest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vent d'Ouest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.