We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find....wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot Parisien

Le Bistrot Parisien
39 Place de l'Hotel de ville, 76600 Le Havre, France
02 35 22 10 40
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 267 Restaurants in Le Havre
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a find....wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After wondering around Le Harve for about 20mins having not seen any other restaurants open we were too hungry and tired to look any further and decided to stop here.

We were unsure what to expect ......but what a find.

Plenty of choice, although not the cheapest restaurant (we were still starving at this point!) we chose our meals - mine was a chicken ceaser salad with a side of fries and the other half was a steak. They arrived within 10mins f ordering and we were very surprised - both meals looked amazing. you might not think much about a chicken ceaser salad, but this is the best salad I've ever had! The side order of fries were delicious, and home cooked. The steak arrive quite bloody, after asking for it well done, this was sent back and replaced within 5mins to a perfection.

We also had desert which was also amazing - ice cream with chocolate and a typical french cream bun! awesome.

This is one of the best restaurants ive ever been to - if it wasn't in Le Harve I would be calling back here again for the next trip to france. There's also a lovely view of the centre with the beautiful flowers and fountains.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    73
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable, affordable, memorable and well worth the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and hopefully more visits to this excellent restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The 1st time we visited I had the Pork Knuckle which was cooked & tasted perfection. However, I should have shared it with a friend as it was a banquet in itself. 2nd, 3rd & 4th visits were the beef bourguignon & lamb in thyme. Mmmmmmm. Can't wait to go back again. Might have to take a few friends to tackle the pork knuckle again though :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Le Havre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We came at this restaurant just wandering around Le Havre looking for a place that had both seafood as well as other items on the menu. And we really enjoyed it. It was a little difficult to find a suitable place because we had a pram with our baby with us but once that was sorted we had a great meal. The seafood platter I took was delicious en fresh and the steak tartare of my husband was so good, I think it's the best I ever tasted. Also the deserts (crème brulee and chocolate mousse) were really good.

All in all I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice place for dinner in Le Havre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Sumptious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Despite being well booked out with lunch reservations for Armistice Sunday, we were courteously found a table for two inside the retaurant on a cool wet day. Our waiter was a master of his craft, and I marvelled at the large orders he took and executed with minimal note taking or fuss at adjoining tables. The group had more several parties of late guests, and how he kept track of the whole procedure baffled me.
We had fish soup, main course to choice, and creme catalan... generous portions, and well presented. With 50cl carafe of house red, the bill came to @ 50euros.
Busy and well managed restaurant, proficient and friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable cost and excellent, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and I visited Le Havre during a short cruise on the Queen Elizabeth and asked in the local tobacconists where we could get some oysters for lunch. He recommended Le Bistrot Parisien, which we'd actually walked past and hadn't really liked the look of. We returned and entered to be warmly greeted with a smile and a handshake from the proprietor. We were seated and served quickly. We ordered a dozen oysters (22 Euros) followed by the three course lunchtime special for 16 Euros. The oysters were lovely and my wife considered the foie gras to be the best she'd ever tasted. The food was good, the house wine was reasonable and very drinkable and water was free and quickly replenished by the excellent waitress. The restaurant was very busy with local French people and there was an excellent convivial atmosphere. We certainly wouldn't hesitate to eat there again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot Parisien also viewed

Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
 
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Le Bistrot Parisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot Parisien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.