We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start To A Great Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carmin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carmin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Le Havre
Harpswell, Maine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Start To A Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived in Le Havre at about 4:00 o'clock in the afternoon. We had flown into Paris that morning and we were at the end of a long day. The two, I assume, owners were just a delight. They got us into our rooms quickly and efficiently. We were told to park in the street in front of the hotel as we would not need to worry about a parking ticket until 9:00 the next morning. They gave us directions to the beach where we would find a number of restaurants. It was an easy walk. After dinner when we returned they were quite gracious in chatting with us in the lobby as my buddy and I enjoyed a taste of the B&B brandy that we had bought at the Benedictine Abbey earlier in the day. They even provided us with proper glasses. They also told us about a town that we should visit on our way to Omaha beach the next day. The breakfast was fine and so were the rooms. As I said, all-in-all a great start to our vacation in France.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    45
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
47
13
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was staying in Le Havre for a conference and really enjoyed those 3 nights at Hotel Carmin. After some delays leaving Paris, the owners were massively helpful and made sure that, despite the fact reception is not 24 hours, I could get to my room without trouble. My (very late) arrival was no issue, got to my room as instructed and was pleasantly surprised at how big and clean it all was. The hoetl is also really quiet, despite a central location and brilliant if you need to use the tramways. Breakfast were nice and fresh, with a friendly owner to boot. Really nice stay, it was rated highly by so many others and as often the case there is a good reason for it, it's a nice place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a terrific hotel. Le Havre not the loveliest of towns at first sight, but the hotel is an unexpected delight. Welcome, room, advice about dinner, breakfast especially, all impeccable. The owners take a real pride in the job, and the result is the best hotel, regardless of class, that we've been to in a long time. Pity we'd booked the return for the next day...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LACHANT, Gérant at Hotel Carmin, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Madame,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi l'HOTEL CARMIN pour votre séjour au HAVRE. Proche de l'HOTEL DE VILLE (2 stations de tram depuis la gare, et à 10 mn à pied de la plage) , la situation centrale de l'établissement , vous permet de vous déplacer facilement. Votre confort demeure notre priorité, que vous soyez ici pour tourisme ou affaires. Nous sommes ravis que la décoration sobre de votre chambre vous ait séduite. A très bientôt ....
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is extremely well situated in the city centre, at 15 minutes walking from the beaches, and 1 minute from the City hall and the restaurants, brasseries and bars which are located in the surrounding streets.
Don't expect la grande luxe but nice, very clean and comfortable rooms and a very warm welcome.
Breakfast is served from 6.30, so perfect for business travelers.
Parking place is easily found in the street of the hotel (but do keep the hours in mind).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the exceptional room this is a loverly hotel. The location is great to explore and the staff provide a map if places of interest. The rooms are big and immaculately clean with and ensuite shower. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and overall price was good.
There is also a great restaurant 2 mins away in the road to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is just perfect. 7 minutes on tramway from the train station, 10-15 minutes walk to most interesting places in the city. If you would like to go to Etretat (absolutely marvellous), the bus stop is in front of the hotel. Plenty of good restaurants in the same street.
My room was clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom is large (especially for French standards). It was very pleasant to have electric cattle in the room and to enjoy a cup of tea after sightseeing.

Both owners are very friendly and with a wonderful sense of humour. I liked Havre very much and if I come back I would definitely choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights having booked a room for 3 as we were travelling with our 12 year old son. A very friendly welcome from the two owners. Our room was spotless and had a lovely big bathroom. We often left the room relatively late in the morning but were not disturbed by the cleaning staff and returned from a day at the beach to a pristine room. Free WLAN worked without a hitch. The two owners were always on hand to offer tips on restaurants and attractions in the area. We would like to thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmin

Address: 15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Havre
#2 Best Value Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmin 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free wifi in each roomelevatorbeach 10 mn walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Carmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Le Havre
Le Havre Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.