We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carmin to your Saves list
Hotel Carmin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Le Havre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was staying in Le Havre for a conference and really enjoyed those 3 nights at Hotel Carmin. After some delays leaving Paris, the owners were massively helpful and made sure that, despite the fact reception is not 24 hours, I could get to my room without trouble. My (very late) arrival was no issue, got to my room as instructed and was pleasantly surprised at how big and clean it all was. The hoetl is also really quiet, despite a central location and brilliant if you need to use the tramways. Breakfast were nice and fresh, with a friendly owner to boot. Really nice stay, it was rated highly by so many others and as often the case there is a good reason for it, it's a nice place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
64
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a terrific hotel. Le Havre not the loveliest of towns at first sight, but the hotel is an unexpected delight. Welcome, room, advice about dinner, breakfast especially, all impeccable. The owners take a real pride in the job, and the result is the best hotel, regardless of class, that we've been to in a long time. Pity we'd booked the return for the next day...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LACHANT, Gérant at Hotel Carmin, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Madame,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi l'HOTEL CARMIN pour votre séjour au HAVRE. Proche de l'HOTEL DE VILLE (2 stations de tram depuis la gare, et à 10 mn à pied de la plage) , la situation centrale de l'établissement , vous permet de vous déplacer facilement. Votre confort demeure notre priorité, que vous soyez ici pour tourisme ou affaires. Nous sommes ravis que la décoration sobre de votre chambre vous ait séduite. A très bientôt ....
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is extremely well situated in the city centre, at 15 minutes walking from the beaches, and 1 minute from the City hall and the restaurants, brasseries and bars which are located in the surrounding streets.
Don't expect la grande luxe but nice, very clean and comfortable rooms and a very warm welcome.
Breakfast is served from 6.30, so perfect for business travelers.
Parking place is easily found in the street of the hotel (but do keep the hours in mind).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the exceptional room this is a loverly hotel. The location is great to explore and the staff provide a map if places of interest. The rooms are big and immaculately clean with and ensuite shower. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and overall price was good.
There is also a great restaurant 2 mins away in the road to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is just perfect. 7 minutes on tramway from the train station, 10-15 minutes walk to most interesting places in the city. If you would like to go to Etretat (absolutely marvellous), the bus stop is in front of the hotel. Plenty of good restaurants in the same street.
My room was clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom is large (especially for French standards). It was very pleasant to have electric cattle in the room and to enjoy a cup of tea after sightseeing.

Both owners are very friendly and with a wonderful sense of humour. I liked Havre very much and if I come back I would definitely choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights having booked a room for 3 as we were travelling with our 12 year old son. A very friendly welcome from the two owners. Our room was spotless and had a lovely big bathroom. We often left the room relatively late in the morning but were not disturbed by the cleaning staff and returned from a day at the beach to a pristine room. Free WLAN worked without a hitch. The two owners were always on hand to offer tips on restaurants and attractions in the area. We would like to thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here one night on our cycling tour before we got the ferry home. Spacious, clean, nicely decorated rooms, Comfotable bed, good breakfast and very friendly fun hosts who gave us a recommendation for a great place to eat in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmin

Address: 15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Havre
#1 Business Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmin 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi in each roomelevatorbeach 10 mn walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Carmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Le Havre
Le Havre Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.