We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Carmin to your Saves list
Hotel Carmin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Le Havre
Dorset
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Thank you would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely 2 day stay at the Carmin, room nice and clean and the bathroom looked brand new, breakfast was typical lots of fresh bread, croissant, fromage and jambon,
Jean Pierre and Thierry really welcoming and helpful,
There was a bus stop right outside the main door we just jumped on and got off at the beach, the way they pay the fares is really confusing though, the driver not helpful at all,
We loved the parking' all over the town you park in a bay and pay 4 euro to park from 09.00 to 17.30 for the day all night it is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    48
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
52
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Carmin August 2012. The owners Jean Pierre and Thierry are absolutely wonderful. They cannot do enough for you, recommending places to eat, where to go etc and asking you all about it next day. The hotel itself is very clean with everything you need. The breakfast was continental and simply fresh and delicious. The only problem we had was no hot water during the day "only whisky"the boys little joke. I can understand not boosting hot water systems if people are out all day, but having to wait till 6 oçlock for hot water was a bit inconvenient. Also there could have been a non slip bath mat or hand rail in the bath as was a bit precarious getting in and out of the bath/shower as was slippy. Also the shower head in the bath was a bit low down and you did have to bend a bit to get your head under. It did seem more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel as there was no restaurant or bar where you could get a drink. Also no English speaking channels on TV all in French. It would have been good to get one English speaking channel especially for News. On the whole a great stay and we would stay here again because the owners were just so lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Visited Le Havre for the Normandy week sailing event accompanied by a disabled friend who used to sail with us.Stayed at the Hotel Carmin which was a short walk from the marina.We arrived at the hotel and were made very welcome especially my disabled friend who was helped in every way by the friendly staff.The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast very good with very attentive staff.This made our stay in Le Havre very pleasant and memorable.Many thanks to the Hotel Carmin.We would have no hesitation in returning to the Hotel Carmin if we visit Le Havre again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We enjoyed our time at Hotel Carmin: the lobby is cheerful, the rooms were a decent size and clean, and the location was nice – around the corner from Hotel de Ville, and a short walk to the ocean. Three of us shared a triple room, and the size was fine for us (1 single bed, 1 double bed, plus a single-sized daybed). The staff here were the best part: so friendly, nice, and always ready with suggestions. The hotel isn’t incredibly luxurious – think chain-style Holiday-Inn-esque vibe – but we thought it was a very good value given the cost of other hotels in Le Havre. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a budget-friendly hotel in this city.

(Of course, whether I'd recommend Le Havre itself is a different story. We found it interesting, but we had personal reasons to visit. If you're coming just for tourism, another town in Normandy might be more interesting. However, if you do go to Le Havre, check out St Joseph's church and take the bus to Etratat -- the bus conveniently stops right across from Hotel Carmin.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I picked this hotel after reviewing my options in Trip advisor and I was not disappointed.I crossed the channel as a foot passanger and we stayed here for 3 nights.I think there is a shuttle bus from the port to the town but we just walked as it was only 30 minutes to the Hotel which was very easy to find.The hotel is well located between the town and the beach resort area and although on a large road is very quiet.Double glazing (that opens) and shutters were and additional benefit.Clean,orderly and well maintained it is a basic hotel which is reflected in the price.The staff were all fantastic and provided lots of local information and suggestions.I didnt try the breakfast.We were both very pleased with this choice and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Carmin during a weekend trip to Le Havre for a family member's 50th Birthday. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and the continental breakfast was lovely. But what made it absolutely fantastic were the staff. They were so helpful and friendly and really helped make our weekend unforgettable. They even gave the Birthday girl some delicious toffees as a Birthday present. I would highly recommend this hotel and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The rooms at this hotel are not the most luxurious but they are extremely clean and the bedding is very comfortable. The hotel is very calm, no noisy roads outside and well insulated so you don't hear the person in the room next to you. The service offered is impeccable and what is not offered in luxury in the room is made up for by the attention to detail of the owner. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmin

Address: 15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Havre
#2 Best Value Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmin 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free wifi in each roomelevatorbeach 10 mn walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Le Havre
Le Havre Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.