We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normandy Week stay in Le Havre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Carmin to your Saves list
Hotel Carmin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Le Havre
Gurnard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Normandy Week stay in Le Havre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Visited Le Havre for the Normandy week sailing event accompanied by a disabled friend who used to sail with us.Stayed at the Hotel Carmin which was a short walk from the marina.We arrived at the hotel and were made very welcome especially my disabled friend who was helped in every way by the friendly staff.The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast very good with very attentive staff.This made our stay in Le Havre very pleasant and memorable.Many thanks to the Hotel Carmin.We would have no hesitation in returning to the Hotel Carmin if we visit Le Havre again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    49
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
52
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We enjoyed our time at Hotel Carmin: the lobby is cheerful, the rooms were a decent size and clean, and the location was nice – around the corner from Hotel de Ville, and a short walk to the ocean. Three of us shared a triple room, and the size was fine for us (1 single bed, 1 double bed, plus a single-sized daybed). The staff here were the best part: so friendly, nice, and always ready with suggestions. The hotel isn’t incredibly luxurious – think chain-style Holiday-Inn-esque vibe – but we thought it was a very good value given the cost of other hotels in Le Havre. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a budget-friendly hotel in this city.

(Of course, whether I'd recommend Le Havre itself is a different story. We found it interesting, but we had personal reasons to visit. If you're coming just for tourism, another town in Normandy might be more interesting. However, if you do go to Le Havre, check out St Joseph's church and take the bus to Etratat -- the bus conveniently stops right across from Hotel Carmin.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I picked this hotel after reviewing my options in Trip advisor and I was not disappointed.I crossed the channel as a foot passanger and we stayed here for 3 nights.I think there is a shuttle bus from the port to the town but we just walked as it was only 30 minutes to the Hotel which was very easy to find.The hotel is well located between the town and the beach resort area and although on a large road is very quiet.Double glazing (that opens) and shutters were and additional benefit.Clean,orderly and well maintained it is a basic hotel which is reflected in the price.The staff were all fantastic and provided lots of local information and suggestions.I didnt try the breakfast.We were both very pleased with this choice and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Carmin during a weekend trip to Le Havre for a family member's 50th Birthday. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and the continental breakfast was lovely. But what made it absolutely fantastic were the staff. They were so helpful and friendly and really helped make our weekend unforgettable. They even gave the Birthday girl some delicious toffees as a Birthday present. I would highly recommend this hotel and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The rooms at this hotel are not the most luxurious but they are extremely clean and the bedding is very comfortable. The hotel is very calm, no noisy roads outside and well insulated so you don't hear the person in the room next to you. The service offered is impeccable and what is not offered in luxury in the room is made up for by the attention to detail of the owner. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

As I'm used to book rather expensive hotels as Hilton and Sheraton I can advise this hotel to anyone who wants a no-nonsense place to sleep .
The hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the beach in a residential area very quiet at night and is spotless clean .
The owner is very friendly and gave us good advice about the places to go to or to avoid .
Furthermore I found Le Havre rather charming and well worth a more thorough visit.
Excellent restaurants are for example La taverna la paillette and Brasserie Georges...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

I spend a week in Le Havre for work and stayed in the Hotel Le Bauza where the owners made my stay a memorable one. I found there more than a warm and kind atmosphere. This is a rather unique and atypical hotel where you are not just treated as a customer but as a TRUE GRUEST. The traveller spending time away from home and feeling (maybe!) too far away from 'sweethome' will soon realise that he/she will feel 'at home'. This is exactly what you will get! I couldn't be happier to talk with the 'lady of the house' or the 'gentleman of the house' after a long and hard day at work . If you are in the area, go and stay there ... you will have a great time and will get first hand what French hospitality is all about!

A French traveller living in the UK

  • Liked — Proximity to the town - warm and very hospitable atmosphere -
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmin

Address: 15, rue Georges Braque, 76600 Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Havre
#2 Best Value Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmin 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free wifi in each roomelevatorbeach 10 mn walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Le Havre
Le Havre Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.