We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay experience but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Le Havre Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Le Havre Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Le Havre Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du 129eme Regiment d'Infanterie, 76600 Le Havre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Le Havre
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“okay experience but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for three nights while attending a conference at the University. It was fine, and reasonably priced (80 euro a night) but nothing too special. Somewhat faded and dingy in places. My room seemed to be some kind of mini apartment, so it was large but weirdly compartmentalised in a way that made it feel claustrophobic - also lots of wood chip on the walls, painted orange etc. Bathroom also a little smelly. Close to town centre and railway station. I had expected something a little more modern, but I guess it was fine for the price, and given the purpose of my visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent R, Directeur général at Ibis Le Havre Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire. Nous avons un programme de rénovation pour ce type de chambre cet été 2014. (Programme "moderne").
Au plaisir de vous accueillir prochainement,
Bien cordialement,
Vincent Radigois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    113
    83
    25
    8
See reviews for
54
104
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We liked this hotel. It's not in the centre of things (in a side street about halfway along the Blvd de Strasbourg) but within easy reach of the ferry terminal, railway station and sights near the hotel de ville. Reception staff were good but on our second morning, the breakfast staff were not on the ball as many items (including bread!) were left without being replenished for some time - not good at this time when people want to get on with their day. The room was a reasonable size, comfortable and quiet. The hotel has private parking at €9.50 per day but you can also park in local streets (inc right outside the hotel) for €4 per day. We found a good Russian restaurant in rue d'Ingouville as well as a good Irish bar in rue Paul Dourner, both near the hotel de ville. The only problem we found was that les Havrais are somewhat negligent as far as their dogs are concerned and great care needs to be taken when walking around the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

chosen by chance while my short stay in le havre.
-excellent handy and convenient location: 10 mins walk from train station and 1 min drive from ferry terminal. 30-40 mins walk to the beach.
-room we had was 71eur, double. very nice new and clean bathroom (towels provided only on the first night and never replaced with new ones). air con not working, room tiny but good enough as we only slept in it anyway. no tea making facilities, no kettle nor glasses.
on-street parking paid mon-fri (8am -12pm, 2pm-6pm, or 4 eur per day). hotel has some underground parking spaces (shared with many other companies around) priced 8eur per day, not always available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and always found it to have excellent service personnel and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The Hotel is well situated for the Ferry Port, the Railway Station and the City centre. On the occasions we have had breakfast it has always been very good. The Hotel has its own private parking as well as lots of parking spaces nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we chose this hotel as we have previously had good experience of an Ibis hotel. however this one is out dated (the room rather like my uni hall of residence in the 1980s) and over priced. our top price "confort" room was so small there was less than 4 inches between the ends of the beds and we did not have:
net curtains, even tho the room was over looked
any kind of picture or decoration, adding to a very "budget" feel - as did the tubes of multi purpose shower gel/ shampoo attached to the wall as the only toiletries offered- do not expect any semblance of classy living here
a kettle
a safe
a bath plug!

the staff were very variable in politeness and availability;
morning staff one morning refused to let people sit at certain tables, to the extent of shooing people away who had sat down and removing place mats from under the plates of others who were eating; this was extremely rude.
the receptionist was also staffing the bar one afternoon and a long queue formed while she was making cheese toasties.

it was clean, very handy for the ferry terminal and the tram. le havre is delightful for a visit and I am sure you could find a better hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Le Havre Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Le Havre Centre

Address: Rue du 129eme Regiment d'Infanterie, 76600 Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Le Havre Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Le Havre Centre is in the town centre, close to the International Trade Centre, railway station and ferry wharfs. A city of art and history, Le Havre boasts a Fine Arts Museum, a series of Impressionist sites, beaches and spectacular cliffs. Book one of our 91 airconditioned rooms with Wifi Internet access (five of which are adapted for guests with limited mobility) and benefit from the hotel amenities, 3 meeting rooms (cap. 100), restaurant, bar, snacks 24hrs, terrace and undercover pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Le Havre Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Le Havre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Le Havre Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.