We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed, central location - a positive experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce to your Saves list
Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chaussee Georges Pompidou, 76600 Le Havre, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUPER SALES : 30% OFF
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Le Havre
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed, central location - a positive experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location :
Perfecly located on the east part of Bassin du Commerce, 5' walk from the Pasino. From the train station, count on a 10'/15' walk. You probably can catch the tramway to get nearer but you will have to walk at least 5 to 10 minutes from the stop anyway. Close to Rue de Bretagne and Rue Chevalier where there is a couple of restaurants, creperies and bars.

Service and Equipments:
A classic Mercure hotel, very clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy in the room but very comfortable bed, soft towels and "personal" message. I did not get a chance to have breakfast there but there is a big dining room as well as an outside restaurant.
Checkin was a breeze as well as checkout with two polites and smiling hotel members.

4-star only as I thought the area really misses some lights at night. And the road from the station is really not very reassuring with some creepy standing people when you enter Quai Georges V after 9PM. Not Mercure fault, but worth mentioning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Responsable réception at Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay.
We are glad to read that you appreciate our central location in Le Havre (close to the station, the city center and the beach) and that you enjoyed your room. We are vigilant to the comfort and the well-being of each guest.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards.

Claire THOMAS
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    153
    44
    12
    2
See reviews for
52
107
33
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a nice location. It should have everything going for it, but ...
1) Free WIFI has limitations. only for 6 hours
2) Rooms are somewhat dated. Our room had a nice view, but the bed was hard and lumpy. The head of the bed was lower than the foot of the bed. There were definite low spots in the mattress.
3) Air conditioning does not appear to work. We found the room hot, so set it to a low temperature. The room remained at 24C, in spite of setting it down to 15C. Obviously, the AC is not working.
4) The restaurant is adequate. The staff were helpful. The food was "okay". We found it odd that we were the only ones in the restaurant. A lady came in to talk to us (never saw her before), and told us that the restaurant across the street was really good. Maybe that is why this one is not frequented.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Responsable réception at Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel.
We are very sorry that the facilities did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
You have shared your impressions by answering our questionnaire of satisfaction on which your room number is written, so that we can take the corrective measures for the bed and for the air conditioning to avoid those inconveniences in the future.
For the wifi, you can use it as much as you want but you have to reconnect every 6 hours.
We hope to earn your trust during a next stay.
Yours faithfully.

Claire THOMAS
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilton Marsh, Wiltshire,
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stopped here as a break in the long journey home. Ideal location and relatively easy to find, in spite of the 'mad traffique' in Le Havre ;-) The Staff are very friendly, speak good English for those who can't (speak 'la belle langue') and are very helpful and efficient. The room (Privilege Class) was very spacious with a humungous-size, comfortable bed; and the sound-proofing was very efficient ... didn't hear a thing, not even the air-co, although that could have been a bit cooler ... adjusted it to its lowest setting, but still a wee bit too warm (personal preference). That said, the room was still very comfortable. The Restaurant is very good with excellent service, but the meal in itself was just a little bit disappointing. All-in-all, a very good Hotel, well decorated and well up to Mercure Hotel standards.
The only downside for us ... there is no direct access by lift to the Hotel from the secure, underground garage, which is 'shared' with the adjacent College. There is but one steep, circular stairway which leads up from the garage to outside the rear of the Hotel with a short (50-100m) walk to Reception; this can prove difficult to those with mobility problems (e.g. me), so unload luggage before going down to the garage and ask for assistance from Hotel staff to get luggage to the vehicle when leaving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Responsable réception at Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.
We thank you for your delightful words about the staff and your room.
For the air conditioning and the meal, please know that we take your comment in consideration.
We are working to always meet your expectations and to offer you an enjoyable stay.
Yes indeed there is no lift between the secure underground garage and the hotel, it's a pity. We can help you for the luggages with pleasure.
We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Le Havre.
Best regards.

Claire THOMAS
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

a good nights sleep is ultimately what you want from a hotel and this one hit the mark rooms are very comfortable and large.
good Aircon to
found the bar staff very friendly with a good selection of wines and especially good for bottled beer.
try penforth dark beer very nice.
location is good plenty of restaurants around the area , only one criticism a little on the expensive side with breakfast extra

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Responsable réception at Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.
It's a huge pleasure to read that your stay provided you satisfaction.
We will be glad to share your comment with the whole staff.
We will be pleased to welcome you again at the Mercure Le Havre.
Yours sincerely.

Claire THOMAS
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

great location if you need a place to stay in Le Havre. It's short walk from the train station (just go one block towards the water, and turn right. Keep walking until you reach the hotel). If you need a taxi they are standing by at the station. A ride will cost 5-6 euros.

The front desk staff were all helpful and spoke English very well (not always the case in Le Havre, so it's helpful if you can speak a little French).

Walking distance to downtown, lovely restaurants, nice stores (plenty of window shopping) bakeries (to buy your traditional french bread), beautiful fountains and gardens in front of the Hotel de Ville.

A 30 minute leisurely stroll to the cruise terminal. If you need to get there with luggage a taxi is just 6 euros.

One day, we took the 45 minute train to Rouen, that runs every hour.

Room Tip: We had a "privilege" room. It was well worth the extra few euros; very comfortable bed, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Responsable réception at Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for the time that you spent to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.
You’re right, our hotel is well situated to discover the city center (10 minutes walk), to go to the cruise terminal and ferry terminal and to visit Normandy (Honfleur, Etretat, Rouen etc).
We are pleased to read that you keep enjoyable memories of the front desk staff and the area.
We would be very happy to see you again for a next stay.
Yours sincerely.

Claire THOMAS
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

First impressions where good, great location, parking available and friendly staff. The rooms desperately need updating, old pine furniture and artex everywhere. The public areas have obviously been updated recently.

The restaurant is average, my ham salad starter consisted of one price of ham, some bland sliced beetroot and carrot. My Steak & chips main were well cooked and tasty. The hotel charges £200 walk in rate, for that you can stay at The Ritz. If I was paying out of my own pocket I would be unhappy but this is a one night business trip so it's serving a purpose.

Average hotel with good staff

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Responsable réception at Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

firstly we want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are sorry to read that you are a bit disappointed with your stay and we would like to apologize for this.
Please know that we take all your comments in consideration.
Yours sincerely.

Claire THOMAS
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce

Address: Chaussee Georges Pompidou, 76600 Le Havre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of town, looking onto the Bassin du Commerce dock, the hotel offers 96 air-conditioned rooms. All our rooms - Elegance, Privilege and Junior Suites - provide maximum comfort. Easy access to the beach, museums, harbour and train station. SUR LES QUAIS restaurant and bar. Meeting rooms totalling 300 sqm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Le Havre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.