We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Rye Foreign

Royal Oak Rye Foreign
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye Foreign
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Oak Rye Foreign
Save
You added Royal Oak Rye Foreign to your Saves list
Peasmarsh Road, Rye Foreign TN31 7SY , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Rye Foreign B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After missing the last train home on a Saturday night, we found ourselves stranded in Rye with no hotel booked for the night. We called up the Royal Oak and fortunately they had a room available, I'm very glad that they did! Considering it would've been about 10:30pm by the time we arrived, the owner was very helpful in getting us settled and making sure we had everything we needed.

We were then free to go and enjoy a couple of drinks in the lovely beer garden, which was outside our chalet. The room itself was a good size, well equipped, looked pretty new and was very clean.

We got up in the morning and strolled across the garden to the pub itself to enjoy a full English breakfast. It was genuinely very tasty and was cooked with good quality ingredients. Following this, the owner generously organised us a ride back into the centre of Rye.

I will definitely be keeping this place in mind for when we return to the area again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deal, Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our B&B owners pointed us in the direction of the Royal Oak and I am so glad they did. They also said the Landlord looked a bit like Clint Eastwood. YES HE DID!! He even wore a waist coat and smoked a cheroot (outside of course). Nice atmosphere. But the piece de resistance was the food. A short chalk board simple menu did not give us any hint of the amazing meal we were about to have. Home cooked (by Clint's wife {that's probably not his real name}) - and SO tasty. If you haven't been there and enjoy good - not mucked about or twiddled about food - do go and try it out for yourselves - I'd be very surprised if you were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Popped in here with the Mrs on lunchtime Saturday 4 May 2013. With all the brilliant reviews below, expected it to be a lot busier, but had no trouble as it was only half full.

Menus was on a chalk board - short and very simple. Baked camembert to start (the bread was amazing), then cajun chicken (with more bread) cooked just the way I like it - moist but with a lot of flavour. Couldn't face the pudding boardm, which was no great loss as I don't have much of a sweet tooth.

A nice little gem that no-one else should visit, ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to this pub on a Thursday night, we were very impressed with the food and very friendly welcome, I don't know names, needless to say that it was the guy that I can see that others have referred to on here as Clint Eastwood! :-)

There was a guy sat at the bar casually playing a guitar and did an extremely lovely version of Vincent - not sure if this is a regular occurrence but if it isn't it should be!

Left there feeling really really relaxed and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, really decent proper pub,great ales and if your lucky you'll get served by 'Clint Eastwood'. The food was fantastic had the duck breast and it was lovely really well cooked and moist. Highly recommend. Lovely outdoor space, for outdoor eating if the weather cheers up! Revisited for the 'Wassail' in January (traditional festival) and had an amazing time.:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After looking round & deciding on the royal oak for a meal out we were incredibly impressed. The food was FANTASTIC - between the 6 of us we tried 3 different meals and each one was superb. Would definately recommend this pub for a meal out.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have just had Christmas dinner here, suffice to say food and service was excellent and extremely accommodating. Anti pasti starter, roast turkey with all the trimmings and selection of desserts with coffee and mince pies. There was 11 of us and we all had our food at he same time and it was hot; when you are doing 53 covers this is not easy so very impressed by this. The restaurant was clean and well staffed so we weren't waiting for ages to get a drink. Out of the window chalet style accommodation which if the restaurant is to be used as a gauge I would definitely recommend.
Very very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Oak Rye Foreign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Rye Foreign

Address: Peasmarsh Road, Rye Foreign TN31 7SY , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye Foreign
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rye Foreign
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Rye Foreign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.