We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Folie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Petite Folie to your Saves list
La Petite Folie
44 rue Haute | Saint Catherine Quarter, 14600 Honfleur, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 65 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Warm and Inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

La Petit Folie in Honfleur was the perfect choice for our home base to explore the D-Day sites in France. Honfleur is a beautiful town on the coast and close enough to make all the D-Day sites accessible. We knew that we would be well taken care of at La Petit Folie when our delightful hostess, Penny, sent us a confirmation e-mail with directions, parking information, and everything we would need to have the perfect dining experience in Honfleur. La Petit Folie is stunningly decorated and our vibrant and cheerful room, the Chambre Kiosque, had a lovely view of the garden. We received a warm welcome from Catherine and at breakfast the next day, Penny helped with our touring itinerary while Thierry, Penny’s husband, created driving directions for us. We made a dinner reservation at Le Briard, one of Penny’s recommendations, and it was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    26
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
333
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had the idea to cover over to Normandy for a weekend, and decided to spend one night at La Petite Folie. We were very well received at the place, and received a lot of clear information on the things to do in Honfleur. Our room was really beautiful and spacious with a view on the other side of the hotel. I would personally recommend to stay a few minutes in the room on the basement to enjoy peacefullness. We also had a very nice breakfast with plenty of options, including the smiles and laughs of the owners.
To be recommended...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were four couples staying two nights in late September 2012, three in the B&B and one couple next door. Unfortunately our arrival time did not suit Management (Penny) but we were able to leave our bags and return after 4:00 pm as requested. We were not well received and asked to wait in the Lounge while others were looked after. Fair enough, but then we were rudely treated. Bad start. Two couples were assigned rooms on the 3rd floor and the third couple, due to poor directions and mis-located luggage ended up in the Blue room on the second floor. After one night they were required to move to the third floor. You want to be on the second floor (two floors up), not on the third floor where the rooms are more like garrets. The rooms were mostly well appointed, the breakfasts very good, as were the directions and advice regarding restaurants. The location in Honfleur is also good.

This building is a fire trap with one open staircase from main floor to roof. This is a winding staircase with no intermediate landings. The wood stairs are in poor condition and the stair railings do not meet any of the usual access, safety or building code standards. If you are not in very good physical condition, and if carrying your bags up and down three flights of stairs is at all difficult, then don't stay here.

Catherine is a gem. Penny needs to go to charm school!

Room Tip: Blue room overlooking garden. Make sure shower floor tiles are all intact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Originally, we were booked to stay at another hotel in Honfleur but when we came across La Petite Folie & read all the wonderful reviews, we changed our booking immediately! We stayed here for four nights.

Our room, Kiosk was pretty & spacious. It had a wide entry hall which became a place to store luggage, jackets & shoes. There was a cozy alcove where a chaise lounge provided the perfect spot to read or just relax. Two windows faced the lovely garden. It was very quiet & peaceful here. There was a large tiled shower in the bathroom. Very nice!

A generous breakfast was served in the lovely dining room where a communal table was set for 8 people. Small tables were set in the sitting room for the over-flow or late risers! It was very pleasant having breakfast with other guests!

Our host, Penny and her assistant, Catherine were charming & very helpful with suggestions for what to do in & around Honfleur. They were happy to make dinner reservations for us, especially for the busy Saturday night.

Also, we arranged for parking (fee) in a private garage just down the street. It was very convenient.

We highly recommend La Petite Folie!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the Suite Bleue on a recent trip to France. This is a perfect location for a day trip to Bayeaux, Le Mt. St. Michel or any of the other charming towns nearby. Honfleur has delightful little shops,restaurants and a great Saturday market.
Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and had a lovely ensuite bathroom. The garden, living room and dining room were equally lovely. It was an easy walk to the free parking lot. On arrival we were warmy greated by Catherine who also provided us with some wonderful restaurant suggestions. We enjoyed 3 great breakfasts with the other guests. At four o'clock the check in time is a little late if you are arriving from an over night flight but an opportunity to enjoy one of the outdoor cafes on arrival and yes it is a long way to the 3rd floor or fourth if you count the main floor and yes the steps are steep but this is all very clear on the web site and it was a good way to work off the very indulgent meals we had.There did not appear to be a fire escape from our floor which I found more disconcerting than the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent 2 days at La Petite Folie and it was truly a "grand" experience. WE wished we had reserved a few more days. Penny, the owner, is a wonderful, engaging, energized and bright lady who was prepared to go the extra mile to make our stay memorable (Dinner suggestions & reservations, sightseeing etc.). We were more impressed with your B&B than the 3 Relais et Chateaux we stayed at in France.
A GPS system is advised to find her address in a maze of one-way streets in Honfleur.
Her 'tea-time" and /or Breakfast get-togethers were very entertaining. Food was amazing, rooms were beautiful! There is no elevator in the B&B so be prepared to climb and carry your suitcases up a number of flights (2 or 3). Thank you Penny and Catherine (her assistant) for a very special and memorable time in Honfleur. You are the BEST!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at La Petit Folie for 4 nights in September and it was lovely, a home from home.

We weren't able to book into the B & B as we only booked our accommodation a few weeks before travelling but we were able to book the Le Priscilla (no. 94) apartment which is about 100metres along the same street and within easy walking distance into the main shopping streets / restaurants.

It really is a well decorated and maintained apartment with loads of character and plenty of space for us. It could accommodate 4 but I would suggest thats a family with 2 children rather than 4 adults. The main bedroom is on the ground floor and opens out onto a lovely garden. On the first floor is a cozy lounge area as well as a dining table and kitchenette. There is cable TV in both the bedroom and lounge as well as a dishwasher, microwave, kettle, coffee maker and fridge in the kitchen.

Although you have to make your own breakfast in the mornings, Penny or Catherine do bring down a lovely basket each day at around 8.30am with selection (which changes daily) of bread, fresh croissants, pain au chocolate, hard boiled eggs, yogurts etc and coupled with some cheese, honey and meat that we purchased this made for a great breakfast...my only small cripe (and its tiny !) is that they could have added some fresh fruit or changed / added to the fruit bowl each day.

Both Penny & Catherine are great hosts, both friendly, helpful and happy to assist on any matter during your vacation. They recommended and booked a restaurant for us each day and all 4 were very very good. During our stay we ate at L'Homme de Bois (very good), La Lieutenance (very good), Le Gambetta (excellent food & service) and finally Bistro des Artistes (fantastic dining experience - small menu but fresh local produce).

The town is very pretty to wander round and features a small port. Its great to sit round the harbour and people watch in the afternoons. There was also a market throughout the town on a Saturday with food featuring in St Catherine's Square but also clothes etc. elsewhere.

We used Honfleur as a base to explore further afield being Mont St Michel (c 2hours drive), Bayeux (c50mins) and finally the Normandy beaches (c 1 hour).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and very much hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Petite Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Folie

Address: 44 rue Haute | Saint Catherine Quarter, 14600 Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Petite Folie. Located in town center just steps from the old harbor, St Catherine church and our famous saturday market and walking distance to many cafes and restaurants. Five double rooms all with private bathrooms. NOTE we have stairs and no elevator. For security reasons and the comfort of other guests, children under ten are not permitted. Please do not ask us to make an exception to this rule. La Petite Folie is close to the public gardens and the free NATUROSPACE parking lot which has space for 500 vehicles. We may have parking available (on a first come first serve basis) for an additional fee. Please enquire at time of booking. Non smoking and pets are not permitted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Petite Folie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Folie Hotel Honfleur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Folie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.