We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Lucie

Save Saved
You added La Maison de Lucie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de Lucie
44 rue des Capucins, 14600 Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Honfleur
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Understated elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a beautifully decorated room (#1) with touches such as wooden panelling, quality period sockets and switches, a flowering orchid, and crisp white bed linen. With large windows on 2 sides, the room was also wonderfully light, even in November. The bathroom had a lovely deep bath, with clever part-obscured internal glazing letting light in from the windows of the bedroom. Downstairs the hotel was awash with hycyinths, and these, blended with woodsmoke and large bunches of cinnamon created a subtle but very attractive aroma. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel - just tea/coffee in our room - but only because we were keen to start the day in the sunshine at the Vieux Bassin. Our only "negative" comment would be the lack of sound insulation from the wooden floor above when the occupant(s) of the room above appeared to move their furniture around both late at night and early the following morning - that aside the hotel was also extremely peaceful. Secure parking was available in a courtyard 3 minutes walk away (although the access is a little hairy, requiring several tight turns along Honfleur's extremely narrow cobbled streets) and we were able to make use of this for the rest of the day following a mid morning checkout, which was much appreciated. (I'm guessing this option would not however be available during high season.) We fully expect to return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    35
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
206
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Ok. I am biased as last weekend 27th October 2012 I got engaged the weekend we stayed at la Maison de Lucie so will always have fond memories of my stay. The hotel is small, private and only a 2 minutes walk to the front. The hotel staff were very welcoming, the room (no 8) was fab. It had a very deep and hot bath, electric curtain to the main window, wonderful room service. Numerous cups of tea delivered at all times ( we both had sore throats/flu). We didn't eat at the hotel as there were loads and loads of restaurents in town. We ate very well with all the restaurents being very good.

Just one word of warning we booked the car parking with the hotel and felt it was a very wise investment !!

Honfleur is a very pretty town with loads of walks, shops and we will be going back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in July and greatly enjoyed this charming hotel with its very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the Pavilion which has a huge bed but the person on the inside has to crawl round the bottom of the bed to get out! That was probably the only minor reservation we had. It's a gem of a hotel in a gem of a town. We would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived in late Sept. for four nights. Our first floor room was delightful, and the five windows overlooking the courtyard gave it the illusion of spaciousness. Decor was straight out of a magazine, although insufficient storage space was the only downside. Bathroom was totally
fresh and modern. Lobby areas also attractive, comfortable and inviting; that's where a very
complete continental breakfast was served. All Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly
We would certainly return anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with 2 other couples. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast was nice. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Parking can a bit of a nuisance, but the staff went out of its way to make it work. They gave us great restaurant advice as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very near to shops restaurants, the Market. Breakfast and a sundowner in the courtyard is a must. Go for a room with a view, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We found it better value than the hotels nearby and much more convenient. Ignore pool and fitness rating slip of the finger they have neither

Room Tip: Ask for a view, ignore swimming pool and fitness rating they do not have either, slip of the finger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at La Maison de Lucie for 4 nights in mid-September 2012. Because the the town is both hilly and very historic, a visit to Honfleur was a particular challenge for my disabled wife, and La Maison de Lucie was one of the few places we could consider because it has a ground-floor room with its own entrance and a bathroom that works for a disabled person. What luck! The building was once a private home and the original ambiance has been carefully maintained in the exterior look and the interior decoration of the 2 living rooms accessible to guests. The courtyard adjacent to the entrance has attractive tables set for breakfast every morning, decorated with flowers every afternoon, and candles burning every evening. The breakfast was sumptuous.

The best part was the warm welcome provided by Francois and the ladies working with him. He went more than out of his way to ensure that all our needs were met and that we figured out how to get around town without a lot of walking. Driving in Honfleur is a challenge but Francois rode around with me to give me the "lay of the land" and we got very comfortable with it thanks to him. The hotel offers private parking which is well worth the 12 euro charge but it only has 4 spaces so one should reserve it in advance.

The town is just adorable and charming and well worth a visit, and we can't imagine any better way than to stay at La Maison de Lucie.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which has its own entrance off the courtyard. All the other rooms are upstairs and ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison de Lucie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Lucie

Address: 44 rue des Capucins, 14600 Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
#1 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
#5 Family Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Maison de Lucie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Lucie Hotel Honfleur
La Maison De Lucie Honfleur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Lucie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.