We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Lucie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison de Lucie to your Saves list
La Maison de Lucie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 rue des Capucins, 14600, Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Understated elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a beautifully decorated room (#1) with touches such as wooden panelling, quality period sockets and switches, a flowering orchid, and crisp white bed linen. With large windows on 2 sides, the room was also wonderfully light, even in November. The bathroom had a lovely deep bath, with clever part-obscured internal glazing letting light in from the windows of the bedroom. Downstairs the hotel was awash with hycyinths, and these, blended with woodsmoke and large bunches of cinnamon created a subtle but very attractive aroma. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel - just tea/coffee in our room - but only because we were keen to start the day in the sunshine at the Vieux Bassin. Our only "negative" comment would be the lack of sound insulation from the wooden floor above when the occupant(s) of the room above appeared to move their furniture around both late at night and early the following morning - that aside the hotel was also extremely peaceful. Secure parking was available in a courtyard 3 minutes walk away (although the access is a little hairy, requiring several tight turns along Honfleur's extremely narrow cobbled streets) and we were able to make use of this for the rest of the day following a mid morning checkout, which was much appreciated. (I'm guessing this option would not however be available during high season.) We fully expect to return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MACAMAC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Ok. I am biased as last weekend 27th October 2012 I got engaged the weekend we stayed at la Maison de Lucie so will always have fond memories of my stay. The hotel is small, private and only a 2 minutes walk to the front. The hotel staff were very welcoming, the room (no 8) was fab. It had a very deep and hot bath, electric curtain to the main window, wonderful room service. Numerous cups of tea delivered at all times ( we both had sore throats/flu). We didn't eat at the hotel as there were loads and loads of restaurents in town. We ate very well with all the restaurents being very good.

Just one word of warning we booked the car parking with the hotel and felt it was a very wise investment !!

Honfleur is a very pretty town with loads of walks, shops and we will be going back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in July and greatly enjoyed this charming hotel with its very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the Pavilion which has a huge bed but the person on the inside has to crawl round the bottom of the bed to get out! That was probably the only minor reservation we had. It's a gem of a hotel in a gem of a town. We would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin9646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived in late Sept. for four nights. Our first floor room was delightful, and the five windows overlooking the courtyard gave it the illusion of spaciousness. Decor was straight out of a magazine, although insufficient storage space was the only downside. Bathroom was totally
fresh and modern. Lobby areas also attractive, comfortable and inviting; that's where a very
complete continental breakfast was served. All Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly
We would certainly return anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with 2 other couples. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast was nice. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Parking can a bit of a nuisance, but the staff went out of its way to make it work. They gave us great restaurant advice as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AIS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very near to shops restaurants, the Market. Breakfast and a sundowner in the courtyard is a must. Go for a room with a view, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We found it better value than the hotels nearby and much more convenient. Ignore pool and fitness rating slip of the finger they have neither

Room Tip: Ask for a view, ignore swimming pool and fitness rating they do not have either, slip of the finger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSandzillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at La Maison de Lucie for 4 nights in mid-September 2012. Because the the town is both hilly and very historic, a visit to Honfleur was a particular challenge for my disabled wife, and La Maison de Lucie was one of the few places we could consider because it has a ground-floor room with its own entrance and a bathroom that works for a disabled person. What luck! The building was once a private home and the original ambiance has been carefully maintained in the exterior look and the interior decoration of the 2 living rooms accessible to guests. The courtyard adjacent to the entrance has attractive tables set for breakfast every morning, decorated with flowers every afternoon, and candles burning every evening. The breakfast was sumptuous.

The best part was the warm welcome provided by Francois and the ladies working with him. He went more than out of his way to ensure that all our needs were met and that we figured out how to get around town without a lot of walking. Driving in Honfleur is a challenge but Francois rode around with me to give me the "lay of the land" and we got very comfortable with it thanks to him. The hotel offers private parking which is well worth the 12 euro charge but it only has 4 spaces so one should reserve it in advance.

The town is just adorable and charming and well worth a visit, and we can't imagine any better way than to stay at La Maison de Lucie.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which has its own entrance off the courtyard. All the other rooms are upstairs and ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honfleur
0.3 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#6 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes
0.0 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Lucie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Lucie

Address: 44 rue des Capucins, 14600, Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
#6 Family Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison de Lucie 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison de Lucie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Lucie Hotel Honfleur
La Maison De Lucie Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing