We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Honfleur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Honfleur to your Saves list
Ibis Honfleur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cours Jean De Vienne, 14600 Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Honfleur
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ibis plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stayed at Ibis before and I must admit this time was different. Hotel looked new. Rooms were same basic offering but everything worked to make us feel really comfortable. Location is a bit on the outskirts of town so either a good walk or a short drive will put you in center of town. Breakfast was very good, specially considering price per person is 30% less than what you would pay at next level of comfort/amenities. Parking is free and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    321
    77
    12
    2
See reviews for
80
364
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Savinien sur Charente, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We chose this Ibis on the outskirts of Honfleur both because it accepts dogs - as does all the Ibis chain - and for its convenient location. It worked well on both counts. We had a ground-floor room giving easy access with dog into the large car park. The car, which was fully packed, was securely parked right outside the door (parking is free). And the hotel is very easy to get to from the A29 autoroute: take the exit nearest to (south of) the impressive Pont de Normandie, follow signs towards Centre Ville for a couple of kilometres and you will see it on your left (you have to double back at the next roundabout as the road is a dual carriageway).
The hotel itself is modern, apparently a standard off-the-shelf Ibis design almost indistinguishable from the Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne (my review of 10 October 2012). Smallish room, very functional with no frills but immaculate. Free wi-fi is a welcome extra.
No restaurant on site but the pretty old centre of Honfleur is only a few minutes away with an enormous choice. We were very happy with dinner at the family-run Au Bouillon Normand, set back a bit from the touristy establishments ringing the harbour.

Room Tip: Ground-floor rooms are convenient if travelling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Paid top rate at 69 euros without breakfast, since the hotel we had booked was without electricity, so had to search the internet and selected Ibis Honfleur at the If we wanted to use another Accor hotel we could have selected the Mercure in Honfleur for 20 euros less if we booked via the many discounts offered via email in previous weeks.

In comparison with the last Ibis used in 2012, this was better as it was recently built but 20 euros more expensive. In truth, whilst we haven't stayed in an Etap or a Ibis Budget as they are now called for several years, I don't believe the price deferential is warranted.

This Ibis is very modern with free car parking and wifi, with very clean room and common areas. Did not try breakfast, which at 9.50 euros are expensive. Better to take you own kettle and cake, Genoa cake on this trip.

New definition of "old age". I understand Ibis targets the younger customer, so on this stay the receptionist decided that as we were older than the normal customer she gave us a key to a room with a higher bed with a special mattress and a toilet which was also higher than normal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After a very positive experience of an Ibis Budget in Berlin last month, we thought we'd splash out and go "up market" this time and book a non-budget Ibis for our trip to France.

As we had driven from England, the free parking offered by this hotel was one of the determining factors influencing our choice. Situated on quite a wide, though not very busy dual carriageway, this hotel is set back from road in pleasant surroundings. It appears to be a very new building, and this is reflected in the decor of both the lobby/restaurant area as well as the rooms.

We were greeted by very friendly young staff whose English was far better than our French, so we gave in and restricted our linguistic abilities to the occasional "merci".

The room was spotlessly clean, and decorated in very pleasing pastel colours. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the bathroom consisted of a good shower, toilet and green washbasin. There was a hair dryer and two plastic beakers wrapped in cellophane.

We missed not having a kettle and the facility to make a cup of coffee, but maybe that only comes with the next tier up in the Ibis Hotel hierarchy.

The TV picked up BBC Worldwide on channel 40, and the WiFi worked well. The window looked over the car park at the rear, and across to a large, old residence some distance away. Most importantly, it was very quiet at night.

The hotel is situated just outside the main town, about a 10 minute walk away if you cross the road and walk along the pavement/cycle track (past a Lidl store). This might be an inconvenience for people with mobility problems, though pavement is asphalt all the way.

The "eat all you want" breakfasts downstairs need not be booked, and cost 10 Euros. This is rather expensive, but does allow you to "stoke up" ahead of a busy day's sightseeing!

All in all, a very, very pleasant experience and I shall have no hesitation staying here next time I visit Honfleur. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Honfleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Honfleur

Address: Cours Jean De Vienne, 14600 Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Honfleur 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 km from the airport, the Ibis Honfleur is located on the bank of the estuary at the entrance to Honfleur, city of painters and Impressionism. Close to the Eugene Boudin museum and the old docks, the hotel offers 60 rooms including three adapted for guestes with limited mobility. Other features include free parking, our Rendez Vous bar and a 24 hour snack service as well as WiFi Internet access. For those who like a bit of sport, tennis and golf can be played a few km from the hotel. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Honfleur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Honfleur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.