We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Absinthe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added L'Absinthe Hotel to your Saves list
L'Absinthe Hotel
1, rue de la Ville, 14600 Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Honfleur
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our holiday in Normandy was met with many days of rain..but when you stay at Hotel L'Absinthe you have the cozy warm sitting room which makes the outside less troublesome. We had a very quite, wonderfully decorated room. The bathroom was equipped with everything one would want. Breakfast was very filling and no problem to request another "cafe au lait" . The sitting is truly a wonderful place to read, sip tea, and let the world pass you by! We will return to Hotel L' Absinthe.

merci beaucoup

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
48
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On a road trip with our French friends we did not have any preconceived notions about where we were staying--our friends made the booking, but this is a delightful place, right at the marina with several restaurants in the near vicinity and all of Honfleur's charm at your feet.
The room was exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable with plenty of closet space, fluffy robes and a deep jet-studded bathtub with bath fizzies on hand made for a very relaxing night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My first trip to Hon Fleur and I am afraid the bar was set quite high! One night for business and I had a remarkably comfortable and quiet room with a fabulous jetted tub! As other have noted, it's all about the location...waterfront, street front, you can walk to everything. After a stroll through the town, returned for one of the best dinners I had in France! Good food, good sleep...can't beat this!

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor, far right at the top of the stairs...and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed on dec 31st to jan 1st and had a single and a double room ( No. 2 & 3 ). Free wifi and a cosy entrance hall with fireplace and coffee/tea. The location is on a busy street but 10m off and the rooms where calm. Surprisingly modern and matching brownish colours, very welcoming. The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower. We enjoyed our brief stay. One point to say, the reception seem to have a staffing problem, it was tough to to find somebody for check-in. Ringing the bell did not help, I made a phone call to get somebody to come.
Very good, they have a garage not far away, so no stress to find parking.

Room Tip: the rooms with a view are towards the street, if you like it calm choose the side-street rooms as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lija, Malta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very clean, well kept and nicely furbished hotel. But the KEY is the location. Had a lovely view of the harbour. It is close to all the key things one wants to do in Honfleur, walking, shopping, restaurants. Loved our time there. Breakfast room is great. It helps you to wake up slowly but cheerfully. Great experience.

Room Tip: I would go for the harbour view room, priceless any time of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the annex. As others mentioned, the view was nice. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable, but because there was no A/C, we needed the window open to be cool enough to sleep. Unfortunately, there was a lot of traffic on Friday and Saturday nights. When the regular traffic settled down, the garbage trucks began their dumping (and backing up) for what seemed to be hours. Perhaps the main part of the hotel would be quieter.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed at L'Absinthe. Our room was absolutely beautiful with very upscale boutique bathroom and attractive contemporary furniture, even though the building is historic. A very nice quality continental breakfast was served in a very pleasant little room.

Be advised, though, that it is really impossible to approach this hotel by car. Your best bet is to immediately pull into the big parking lot at the entrance to the Honfleur harbor. It's just a short walk over to the hotel from there. Beware the large, low stone block on the lefthand side as you drive into the parking lot after taking a ticket!!!! We absolutely didn't see it and did some damage to our rental car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Absinthe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Absinthe Hotel

Address: 1, rue de la Ville, 14600 Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your L'Absinthe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Absinthe Hotel Honfleur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Absinthe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.