We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes

Save Saved
You added Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes
Rue Adolphe Marais | Phare du Butin, 14600 Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 hotels in Honfleur
Columbia, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

An absolutely lovely manor overlooking the English Channel and a quiet retreat just outside the busy Honfleur port, yet just a short walk through the woods to the harbor. The beautiful home sits on immaculate property. The staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. I wish we would have had more time here. We had dinner in the dining room and watched a beautiful sunset while having dessert.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our second stay at Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes and hope to return next year.
A small, ten room boutique hotel run by anglo-french family with fantastic attention to every detail of rooms, restaurant and customer service. The atmosphere is very relaxed with helpful on-hand staff when you need them.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best but expect to pay a little more for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to the Manoir in early spring and it was pretty cold and windy with the occasinal sunshine. It is located where the Seine hits the English Channel and one can see the Harbour of Le Havre in the far distance. It is a charming 19th century building where one could imagine Marcel Proust to have resided. It is quite intimate and has the feeling of a family retreat for the summer. There are no usual hotel gadgets, no spas and bars, but there is excellent service. The rooms have character the breakfast is amazing, the cuisine above average, the wines excellent. In general the whole place has a very personal feeling, one feels well looked after and even though the prices are high it is money well spent. We spent a few nights in the neighbouring La Chaumiere, which was slightly less expensive and does have Spa etc. That was a disappointment on the whole and we were quickly homesick for the Manoir.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This family owned hotel was delightful in every way. It was wonderful to be just outside of busy Honfleur - an oasis that was welcome at the end of a busy day. The family were all charming and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is a relatively short distance from Le Havre and Cherbourg and is therefore a good stopping off place for the first night in France. The hotel is a little tricky to find in Honfleur. I asked two policemen and they didn't know where it was! I discovered afterwards that the hotel changed its name a couple of years ago and locals still refer to it using its old name, Manoir du Butin. The hotel itself is very welcoming with very comfortable rooms (including a large open fire which was blazing away on a cold March day). It is about a ten minute walk to the centre of Honfleur. We were advised that in summer parking is difficult in the centre of Honfleur. This shouldn't be a problem for guests at the hotel as the walk is very pleasant.

The hotel's architecture is typical large house Normandy and has a nice garden.

The food in the hotel, both the dinner and breakfast, was first rate. All the staff (including the owners) were very welcoming and helpful. All in all a great first night in France

Room Tip: Ask if there is a dinner, B&B rate. It was very good value P.S. Try their starter of cooked oy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 wonderful nights at the family owned and operated Manoir des Impressionistes. What a gorgeous and well-maintained property this is - our room was quite large, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Owner Bridget, and her staff are very accommodating and go to great lengths to make sure their guests have a relaxing and enjoyable time. Dinner in the dining room on our final night was exceptional - quality ingredients deliciously prepared - one of the best of our 3 1/2 weeks traveling through France & Italy. This was a great base from which to explore the beaches of Normandy, as well as pretty Honfleur and the Norman countryside. Bridget also has wonderful suggestions for places to visit that are not the usual tourist fare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved this hotel. Our room was spacious and so lovely with a fireplace and view of the sweeping vista at the front of the hotel. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. We dined both nights in the dining room, and the meals were superb -- in fact, they set the bar pretty high for the rest of our vacation. We loved wandering around beautiful Honfleur and also driving in the surrounding countryside. We had a wonderful lunch just 5 minutes away at a restaurant owned by Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes. This was our first stop in Normandy, and what a relaxing, beautiful way to begin. We would give this our highest recommendation. Many thanks to the staff for such a wonderful welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes

Address: Rue Adolphe Marais | Phare du Butin, 14600 Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honfleur
#4 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir des Impressionnistes est situe a 15 minutes a pieds du centre ville dans un parc de trois hectares face a la mer et dispose d'un parking prive. Les 10 chambres sont toutes decorees dans un style different et la plupart offre une vue spectaculaire sur la mer. Le restaurant situe dans une partie ancienne du Manoir avec feu de cheminee, et propose une cuisine simple et raffinee face a la mer. Le Spa est accessible sur reservation et propose une large gamme de soins a base de produits Bio. Vous profiterez du sauna, hammam et spa de nage face a la mer en parfaite intimite. Toute l'equipe du Manoir des Impressionnistes se tient a votre disposition pour faire vivre une experience inoubliable a partager a deux ou en famille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes Hotel Honfleur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.