We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Splendour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Ecrin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel l'Ecrin to your Saves list
Hotel l'Ecrin
19, Rue Eugene Boudin, 14600 Honfleur, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Honfleur
New Forest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New Year Splendour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent two nights over New Year at this amazing hotel with friends. Everything about it suited us all perfectly.

Our rooms were wonderful - we had a huge suite (it was the only room left that could accommodate our dog) in the courtyard with the most beautiful silk walls and ceiling, canopied bed and huge chandelier! It also had sofas and chairs that meant our friends could join us (from their smaller but also cheaper and still lovely room) for drinks before dinner and to welcome in the new year. The bath and separate shower were modern, clean, efficient and very large.

The staff are exceptional, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was great - we stuck to the continental option and it was lovely. The free parking facility was fantastic as this can be a nightmare in town. The location was great, just far enough away from the noise and bustle but not too far to walk back and forwards to the port and all the life of the town. The main house is stuffed full of fascinating "objects" and it all works very well in a wonderful quirky meets luxury fashion.



Honfleur is a lovely Normandy port with all facilities in an area well worth further exploration that is all too often missed by Brits heading "south" - We had a lovely day in Trouville (try the Central for a memorable lunch!).



It is a shame the hotel does not do dinner as I am sure it would be as good as everything else it does but there are lots of great places to eat in Honfleur and around and about. Our only bad experience was the very expensive new year's eve dinner we had booked elsewhere (see L'Endroit) which sadly did not live up to its price tag. Next time we will follow the hotel recommendations!



We would all love to go back in the summer and have garden rooms by the pool ....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    108
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
181
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

this is a mansion converted into a hotel with more modern rooms added at the sides of the property. the common space is beautifully decorated and comfortable. the rooms vary dramatically. our friends had the least expensive room which was very small........we had a suite which was very large and comfortable. you get what you pay for. beds firm but not too firm [a constant danger in french hotels]. very clean. welcoming staff. no restarant but very helpful with suggestions.valuable and free on-site parking. adequate breakfast buffet. 5-10 minute walk to the center city. would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked 3 nights here at the end of a 2 week tour of France. We didn't have breakfast during our stay but our room was comfortable and had a terrace to sit out on in the sun. The main building is fascinating as is the gentleman who greeted us. He was very helpful and suggested a couple of places to eat. The location is the main benefit you are away from the bustle of the town but only a few minutes walk away. We loved Honfleur and the harbour. The hotel we would return to if we ever go there again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very charming hotel with friendly staff. The manager provides good information on where to eat out. The breakfast is french with a continental accent. I recomment not to pay more for the english breakfast because it's rather french..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Loved every minute- gorgeous period hotel oozing with charm and overflowing with the aroma from huge bowls of lilies and just a few mins walk to the water front and basin. Was a treat for our 38th anniversary and been given room 12 in the mansion with a canopyed bed and beautiful fabric padded walls was amazing. Everyone was so helpful and attention to detail was their foremost concern. Free parking was a bonus and there is a lovely pool with sunny veranda. Breakfast in the geranium filled conservatory is magic but the three tier itemised breakfast pricing system is a mine field in the morning. probably having the lot is the simplist!!? Signing out is a joy in the drawing room at a huge antique desk where details are logged in long narrow log books and receits are hand written.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel includes free parking and free Wifi in its rates. Our room was in an outbuilding with a terrace space outside where we could sit in the sun. The room was comfortably decorated, bedding changed often, lovely soft towels and face flannels. We had a huge bath and separate large showere with toilet in a separate little room. We had BBC 1 and 2 and BBC World channels on TV.

Breakfast was plentiful. Just one word of warning: the juice machine did contain oranges that had mouldy skins.

The owner and staff treated us courteously and were very helpful. The hotel is situated on a hill and the last part of the walk back from town is quite steep. There is a lounge that has wonderful period furnishings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Loved this property, owner attends to details, parking on premises, central, walking distance to the port area restaurants and shops, nice common area spaces, outdoor garden areas, pool. Try L'Absinthe for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Ecrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ecrin

Address: 19, Rue Eugene Boudin, 14600 Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Honfleur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former Norman manor house nested in the heart of a large park in the centre of Honfleur, near the Vieux Bassin, has a wealth of history and authenticity. It is the reflection of times gone by when the hours passed through the seasons. A place for relaxation in the heart of the town of Art, cradle of a master of impressionism: Eugene Boudin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel l'Ecrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Ecrin
l Ecrin Hotel Honfleur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Ecrin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.