We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Maisons de Lea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Les Maisons de Lea to your Saves list
Les Maisons de Lea
Place Sainte Catherine, 14600 Honfleur, France (Formerly Hostellerie Lechat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed 3 nights, and loved it. We got helped with our suitcases, upon our arrival. Pleasant crew. Our room was like a little studio, with a sofa bed, and extra shower, and a toilet, flat screen tv, then the bedroom had a king size bed with another flat screen tv, a large bathtub and a toilet solo. We also had hair dyer, Nuxe soap, shampoo, body wash and body lotion.
Breakfast was good, I like the apple compote they gave us.
Really a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the church, great view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    126
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
50
190
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Very charming hotel that couldn't be better placed if you want to visit the very pretty town of Honfleur. The cosy rustic decor makes you feel immediately at home. Our room was like a country house, a little tired, but cosy. Lovely sitting room and dining room, albeit a little airless as the windows can't be opened. Delicious breakfast. The food at dinner was very well presented, but didn't taste as good as it looked. Good, but not a culinary destination in itself. I would definitely stay there again, but might venture out to explore other places for dinner, rather than eat in throughout my stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The room was pretty small and a little uncomfortable for the price but the staff were excellent and the location is hard to beat. The market sets up twice a week right outsiders hotel and it's close to all the restaurants and attractions. It's also right next to the bell tower for the church which means bonging every 15 minutes from 9am-9pm. And at 9, what a "show"! That bell goes on for a good 5 minutes without letting up. But if you're keeping normal hours, it shouldn't be a problem.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We keep going and going back there.
The location is perfect, the decoration is really nice, you feel home.
Breakfast is really good, you can also enjoy a tea near the fireplace.
There is a tiny "spa", not really a spa, just a sauna and you can get a massage if you want. It's very small and nice, just like if you had a small spa at home!
It's a little expensive, but we still love it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in the Petite Maison, which is the small historic town house forming part of the hotel complex. It is charmingly renovated in keeping with the period and Honfleur style (nautical) without being too cheesy. Very well equipped and spacious. The hotel restaurant is stylishly decorated in a traditional manner, with good food and service. Breakfast is excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. All in all a charming way to enjoy historic Honfleur. Reasonable value give the high quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located in the town center this Charming hotel was our home base for two days. We arrived after a long drive and had to carry our big bags up 2 flights of stairs so be aware. Our room was very nice and clean but Very small.
We were directed to secure parking for our car and welcomed. First night we enjoyed dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was very nice, simple but well well prepared and well priced.
The spa was booked but we walked the city, enjoyed coffee on the harbor and all the charming shops.
My husband enjoyed sitting at the tables in front smoking a cigar and having a drink with all the new flower boxes blocking the people walking past from standing next to your table.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed there for one night in September. It is like the town was built around the hotel, it is that central!! There is limited parking in a secure carpark close by but unloading is possible outside. There is no lift but our bags were taken care of. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on food. The staff were very nice and we were shown to our room. English is easily spoken. The bells from the church stop later so did not disturb us, the bathe room was spacious and the decoration was neat and fitting for the building. the bed was so comfy, you are very close to all of the restaurants so it was a perfect stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Maisons de Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Maisons de Lea

Address: Place Sainte Catherine, 14600 Honfleur, France (Formerly Hostellerie Lechat)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honfleur
#3 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of old Honfleur, this magnificent building which brings together an old salt warehouse and three 16th century houses, has been lovingly restored into one charming hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Maisons de Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Maisons De Lea Hotel Honfleur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Maisons de Lea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.