We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Homme de Bois

L'Homme de Bois
32 Rue L'Homme de Bois, Honfleur, France
02 31 89 75 27
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 142 Restaurants in Honfleur
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Paris, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“An excellent dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had a very nice seafood dinner at the restaurant. An amandes starter followed by an excellent lobster dish. Great service. I would definitely return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    160
    29
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere! Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Warm, cozy, comfortable ... all words that describe the atmosphere in L'Homme de Bois. Nice, friendly service and good food! We had dinner here twice during our stay in Honfleur. The first night we chose the set menu and the second, we made selections from the a la carte menu. The terrine de maison, moules a la creme et frites and the plate of oysters where particularly good!

Make reservations so as not to be turned away, especially on a busy Saturday night!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Home at Homme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great, small and comfortable French restaurant in a quaint town setting. Recommended by our hotel (See Maison de Lucie) right down the street, my wife and I felt very comfortable in what was an all French crowd.

Classic in that there are only two front end guys working their @$$ off, but they are a great representative for the restaurant and very accommodating. Fresh sea bass was presented perfectly (less the head thank you), while the beef and Frittes were strong. Small but satisfactory wine list, one could sit in this comfortable little place and eat and drink for hours. As a matter of fact...that's what we did:-)

L'Homme is nice home for this Hommee....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton. Ontario
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice restaruant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arrived just before the dinner crowd and was able to secure a table. Patrons who arrived shortly after us were told that there was no more seating for dinner. We had a very delicious meal, with wine. The portion was very generous so dessert was not necessary. Wait staff were very helpful and polite. This place has great ambience and is very reasonably priced. It is just off the waterfront so you will need a restaurant guide or map to locate it especially if it is dark outside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Warm, bistro feel with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our meal in L'Homme de Bois. The restaurant does have what many have described as a warm cosy feel and a bistro character. The menu does focus on seafood and we had the sea bass and mussels as our main course - both were very good. My wife's quiche like starter was fantastic. Being cozy the tables are very close together and the couple next to us had the seafood platter which was immense !!! Service was very good as was the wine list (Sancerre was lovely). I would definitely go back and would advise anyone who plans to go to make a reservation as many people were turned away whilst we were dining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Homme de Bois also viewed

 
Honfleur, Calvados
Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to L'Homme de Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Homme de Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.