We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-la” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Lavande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honfleur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison de Lavande
Chemin du Val La Reine, 14600 Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 Honfleur B&B and Inns
liege
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shangri-la”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have just come back from our second visit to this quiet and very comfortable bed and breakfast. We were greeted as old friends, and once again Sue and Vic did everything possible to ensure our stay was a good one. Having previously stayed in the centre of Honfleur, we find that the ample ( free! ) parking is a real bonus, as well as the peaceful location. Excellent value at 95 euros. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Groundfloor room has access to private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had a recent trip to Honfleur for Valentine's Day, and were very pleased with our stay at La Maison de Lavande, which is on a hill just above the town. Our room was very comfortable, and though not particularly large, it was very pleasant to have the balcony with a lovely view over the garden. This B and B is in a very peaceful location and is an ideal base to visit Trouville and Deauville, and further afield to the landing beaches. Vic and Sue gave us a very warm welcome, and much useful advice on where to eat and what to visit. Honfleur itself is a lovely place, and even out of season has a very good choice of restaurants, which is not always the case in France.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have just returned from a fine 4-day trip to Honfleur, where we stayed at La Maison de Lavande in the downstairs room, with the private semi-shaded terrace. We fully enjoyed the comfort of both room - clean, bright, cosy, not that spacious, but then again the private outside space amply makes up for that - and terrace. Moreover, we could delight in walking around their vast, flowering, beautifully kept garden. In addition to all this, our holiday feeling was enhanced by the leisurely (French) breakfast with a wide choice of orange juice, yoghurt, croissants, nice bread and 3 types of jam, and pleasant talk with the owners, Sue and Vic, to whom we owe what we consider the best bit of our French trip, the long, lovely walks amidst the beautiful, surrounding scenery and fine houses. Initially, we had planned to do some exploring of the neighbouring towns and places like Cabourg and Etretat, but this springtime by then having taken on absolute summer allures, we decided to leave the car unused and set about everything on foot. We even challenged ourselves each time to break our personal uphill speed record... 10'....top that! ;-) I'd say, without a doubt, the place to be for Green Peace lovers, in the literal sense that is... :-)
Lien and Filiep, Bruges, Belgium

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We have just stayed with Vic and Sue for 4 nights at their lovely B&B near Honfleur. It was very clean,comfortable and relaxing. It was great to have our own terrace and being able to come and go as we pleased. The house has a spectacular garden shown off to good advantage over a long and leisurely breakfast. Vic and Sue were very friendly and welcoming and provided lots of useful advice on places to eat and where to park! An excellent base to explore local coastal towns and further afield - Rouen and Monet's garden at Giverny.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We have just returned from a second stay with Vic and Sue and their lovely home was just as relaxing and perfect as we remembered. Nothing is too much trouble - booking restaurants, recommending places to visit and even freezing our ice-packs! The lovely, lazy, long breakfasts are a highlight, as are the terrace and the amazing garden. We feel we are treated as friends rather than paying guests, and this atmosphere - along with the beautiful Honfleur a few minutes' drive or walk away - make for a perfect stay. Thank you both!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN LOVE IN FRANCE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We visited Honfleur on our way back to the U.K. from the Django Rheinhardt festival at Samois sur Seine.
What a gem Honfleur is; a really good find.
But an even better find is this B and B (Chambre de Hote) Run by Sue and Vic Knight.
Their home is set on a hill above Honfleur in superb countryside only a ten minute walkdown to the town.
You are away from the comparative hustle and bustle of the town but all is close enough at hand when you require the delights that are plentyfull.
Sue and Vic are justifiably proud of their home which is set in what can only be described as a jewel of a garden.
we were invited to roam at will and there is a lot to take in here. (labour of love would be something of an understatement)
We were treat royally and made to feel very much at home.
Lovely to chat with over a leisurely breakfast, Sue and Vic are at eaze with their suroundings and ready to advise on the locality should you require this.
We will most certainly retun here on our next visit to France.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

On our four week holiday, this stay was one of the highlight stays of the trip. After many experiences with B&B;s across France, this was one B&B we felt at home. Easy access to the room so we could come and go as we pleased, with a very pretty patio/garden to enjoy after a day of touring. Well done Sue and Vic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison de Lavande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Lavande

Address: Chemin du Val La Reine, 14600 Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great bed and breakfast just above honfleur in the calm of the countryside, with 1 hectare of fabulous gardens to stroll around. Free onsite parking. Honfleur is just a stroll down the hill. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Lavande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Maison de Lavande to your Saves list