We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Lieutenance

Restaurant La Lieutenance
12 Place Sainte Catherine, 14600 Honfleur, France
+33 2 31 89 07 52
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurant La Lieutenance is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 142 Restaurants in Honfleur
Price range: $25 - $74
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Having checked out a number of reviews and finding them closed, we saw this restaurant, checked the menu and saw it seemed busy so gave it a try. What a good decision! Menus ranging from €20 to €47 with lots of choice to suit all tastes. We chose the €29 menu. Ample portions using quality local produce, really well presented. A good selection of wines to accompany the meal. Although it became really busy, the waiter coped well, service was friendly and efficient.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    103
    38
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I just went for the 2 courses having the crab and avocado mousse and the Guinea fowl as the main. Both were superbly cooked and beautifully presented. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was relaxed. There are certainly cheaper options for eating in Honfleur but my only quibble was the wine list which we thought was over priced ( there were only about 3 wines which were under 30 euros a bottle)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is our second trip to Honfleur and the first time round we tried this restaurant and found it excellent. We took our friends this time and went back and it was every good as it was the first time round. We chose the set menu at 29 euros and had 3 courses. Each course had plenty to choose from. Wine was extra of course but the whole evening was truly an excellent French experience. Food was very good indeed. The staff were friendly and helpful. This restaurant is not by the harbour and is in the square at the top by the church, so much quieter .
Thoroughly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Swindon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food, although service perhaps a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went here on Saturday night and could see that this was a very popular restaurant as all the tables were promptly filled.

I was the only vegetarian in our party of four and naturally was a little worried about the options available to me. I was pleased to note that I was able to pick a full meal (starter, main and dessert) without having to resort to salads or omelettes which can be a challenge at times in France.

Food quality was excellent and all four of us seemed very happy with what we were served. Service between courses was a little slow but I am not sure whether this was simply because the restaurant was full or whether it is simply customary to have a slower service in French restaurants than in the UK.

Although the food was very good and the staff very polite/helpful, the meal and wine was slightly on the expensive side although some of this is caused by the weak GBP at the moment. This can be slightly alleviated by having a three course selected meal for 29 Euros per person.

I would happy visit again (especially if the vegetarian options were expanded).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a wounderful surprise !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I were in Honfleur a few days ago with some friends. There were quite a lot of tourists that day. As lunch time approached, we asked a local jeweler (that my wife had encouraged) where we should go for lunch. She immediately suggested La Lieutenance, but suggested that we go there right away to reserve. Good advice since there were only a few tables left. We all had the 20 Euro 3-course lunch. Now we had eaten countless times in restaurants in France before, but this was one of the best. The food was really excellent, and the portions surprisingly plentiful. My Canard à l'orange was as tasty and tender as you could imagine. And the staff were polite and courteous. The only slight knock is that given how bust they were, they could have done with one or two extra waiters. If you're in Honfleur, do yourself a favor and try this restaurant. But do try to reserve ahead of time if you can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Lieutenance also viewed

 
Honfleur, Calvados
Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to Restaurant La Lieutenance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Lieutenance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.