We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de l'Esperance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de l'Esperance to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de l'Esperance
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, boulevard Sainte-Anne, 14100 Lisieux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lisieux
Orford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with friends on a coach party. Rooms very clean, bed comfortable, but no tea making equipment. Breakfast a little disappointing if you like a cooked breakfast. But nice selection of continental items. Dinners were very nice served by friendly staff.
The hotel is in an excellent location to explore the town and places of interest walking distance. Was noisy at night as our room was at the front, with doors and windows shut it was fine but a bit hot as no air condition.
Overall it a lovely break with loads of places to visit close by, I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    6
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

With very friendly, polite and helpful staff together with it's central location the Esperance is a good place to stay. Although the rooms are on the small side - especially the bathroom - they are kept clean and provide the necessities of a hotel - a comfortable bed. As part of a coach tour we had menus which I presume were put together specifically for us but this is not a criticism. We had a choice of two starters, two mains and two desserts each night. The food was well cooked with the chef adding his/her own spin on the meal. Although not to everyone's taste I thought the food was excellent given the rates that must have been negotiated by the tour company. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A family owned hotel, the staff are very helpful and rooms small but nicely decorated and comfortable. I went with my elderly father and they got a wheelchair for him to use whilst we were there. Although not well adapted for the disabled (no ramps etc) they carried the wheelchair up and down the stairs for us and arranged a step for dad to access the shower. The restaurant is very good too but a little pricey (however most of the decent restaurants in the area are surprisingly pricey for France!). The hotel is central and a short walk from most of the St Therese attractions, the market and the shops. I booked by phone and asked quite a few questions about the area, all of which were answered by the staff who also speak very good english.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

As a transit stop this is a good value,central, comfortable and presentable hotel. Rooms are small but adequate (shower room but no tub). .A gratis safe is a comfort though Lisieux is a peaceful and secure spot. The hotel's location is good (although a street side room can be a bit noisy) and most attractions are within easy walking distance. We found easy pay/display parking in the street was convenient although the hotel's own offstreet adjacent parking would probably be a better bet at Euros 10 per diem. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful (Samantha is English but has lived in Lisieux for many years).The dining room is enormous but was not tested by us although it seemed popular with one of the US touring groups which uses the hotel as a transit hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Grand de l'Esperance in Lisieux, France immediately attracts the visitor. Walking up the few steps and pushing open the door of its elegant entrance brings the guest to a warm greeting at the welcoming desk. The key to your room is presented. The restful color in newly decorated rooms helps overcome jet lag and begins a vacation or pilgrimage in the footsteps of St. Therese. An unequaled spread for breakfast starts the day joyfully. Tasty meals served in a smartly appointed dining room delight the palate. The friendly staff brightens the day at the hotel located in the centeer of the sights made famous by St. Therese. Year after year I return most pleased with everything at the Esperance. K.M. Loughman NY USA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Don't expect any comfort from this hotel. It is 2 star and very basic. On a trip to Lisieux with my mother and aunt to trace the footsteps of St. Therese we booked this hotel online seeing pictures of nice looking rooms and we were expecting it to be basic enough. However on arrival, the snooty manager checked us in, we were on the 3rd floor and when we opened the door of the room we were shocked. This hotel was decorated in the 1950's it seems and nothing has been done to update it since then and our room looking nothing like the pictures we'd seen on the internet. We had 3 single beds which were very uncomfortable. The sheets and bedding were clean. The bathroom was clean and adequate although we nicknamed the shower the 'sharp shower' as the little spray that was coming out was like needles! There was a television mounted near the ceiling with a few french speaking channels. A small wardrobe - we ended up using 2 chairs to store our clothes. There was one plug socket right beside the door handle so we had to let our camera battery charger 'hang' from this. Breakfast wasn't great. The interior design of the hotel is gaudy with flourescant lighting. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was dreadful. The service was ok but the food was disgusting. We were given some bread and pate to start - it was like cat food, I had to spit it out. The main courses had no flavour whatsoever. We parked in their garage at a charge of €9 per day. The hotel is in a great location and has huge potential if it were redecorated and the staff were given smiling lessons. We had booked in for 4 nights, but left after 2. On the second day we found an incredible restaurant around the corner called 'Aux Acacias' on 13, Rue Résistance. It was quite simply the greatest meal we have ever eaten! The service was impeccable, the restaurant was quaint and beautiful and the prices were fantastic. This restaurant was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The building looks lovely on the outside but on entering it is without atmosphere. Our room on the fourth floor bore no resemblance to the photographs on the web but it was clean and functional. We were awakened throughout the night by the lively mice in the attic. This activity increased when the pigeons began playing on the roof in the morning! Ariving down to breakfast at 9.45 (breakfast ends at 10.00 am) we were greeted by a woman who was clearly not happy with our time of arrival. She duly showed us where we could make our own coffee and boil our own eggs!! This has the potential to be a great hotel -the building is lovely and well situated - but it neds a lot more effort from management and staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Esperance

Address: 16, boulevard Sainte-Anne, 14100 Lisieux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Lisieux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lisieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de l'Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lisieux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de l'Esperance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.