We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View, Good Discount Club Rate, but that's really it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Five Islands Rv Campground and Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Five Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Five Islands Rv Campground and Resort
Save
You added Five Islands Rv Campground and Resort to your Saves list
Highway 2, Five Islands, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Madison, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic View, Good Discount Club Rate, but that's really it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at Five Island RV Campground during "low season" and found it relaxingly quiet. We did not have reservations, but there was no problem getting us a site as they were rather empty (several Seasonal folks had brought their units in, but no one was camping there mid-week).
Sites are adequate in size, but the numbering system to their sites is confusing. Be sure to wait for your escort to your site so you end up in the right spot. Roadways in campground are gravel and sites are either gravel or grass. Hookups on backins are at rear of site (make sure you have enough water hose, electric cord and sewer hose). Pull thru sites are located in middle of site.
Restrooms are ok - some features are updated in the past few years, but the overall building and some parts really do show their age. 2 sinks, 3 johns and 2 $ showers each. Laundry has several washers and dryers but they are showing their age (lots of rust and wear).
Function room was not open when we visited, nor was the pool.
Owners and work campers were friendly.
Although there was no one else around, we were asked to keep our dog on leash at all times unless we were down on the beach. (Note to campground owners: have you considered taking part of an open area on your property and fencing it off for a dog run?)
There are 3 other campgrounds within a few km; this one has the most direct access to Hwy 2 - all others you have to turn down long drives or dirt roads to get to.
The view is wonderful, just wish the weather had cooperated (misty, windy and just plain cold while we visited). Low tide leaves miles of mud flats, while high tide enhances natures beauty.
We camped in a fifth wheel and would return if our travels bring us this way again.
Five Islands accepts some discount camping plans - contact them to make sure your's in one and if they have availability (limited # of spots, time restrictions).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    22
See reviews for
15
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
guelph
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

It had a great veiw
The pool hall had no lights and nothing to rack the balls . The pool que was broken and taped together some balls were missing.
There was two working washing machines and one working dryer. The pool was broken and the locals informed me it was broken for years.
the washrooms wer ok.
I would go there again yes just for the view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The rudest person I've ever had to deal with. Gorgeous view and site but that's it. Husband was booking site. Owner came and told me to leave as I was trespassing while husband was in office (she claims she didn't see him in there), then she apologized. Too little too late.
Never again...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Five Islands RV Campground and Resort on Labour Day Weekend in our hardtop tent trailer and the lots were clean, well groomed, and hookups were available for different RV setups. The view is world class with the five islands; the campground staff were friendly, helpful and they also come around offering wood. The washrooms were clean, they offered coin operated showers (one buck - Canadian Loonie) and the fees for staying at the campground were reasonable. (approx $34 per night with electrical and water hookup.) The campground can accomodate large bus size RV's, hardtop trailers, tent trailers and tents.
The swimming pool was out of service though, and that was not indicated when we signed in. There was also a large REC HALL building which has pool tables, darts etc.,. which we found out about as we checked out. In fairness to the employees, they were swamped with trailers and RV's waiting to be signed in when we arrived late Friday afternoon on September 2nd.
The check in building has available for purchase, Propane canisters (for coleman stoves, lanterns etc.) Propane (large tank was visible for 20lb refills), ice, milk, soft drinks etc. There are restaurants, Provincial Park, community stores in Five Islands area, and about a twenty minute drive to Parrsboro is the Fundy Geological Museum which is very interesting.
There are also hiking trails into waterfalls in the local area. For those that like to dig clams, the sand flats are exposed at low tide at the beach at the Five Islands RV Campground.

We definitely will return there next season for sure. The campground staff advises to make reservations ahead of time, as they are full at capacity at times throughout the season.

Room Tip: There are two cabins available for rental if memory serves us right. The Resort is mostly related t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Incredible views of the 5 Islands. We were Directly overlooking the beach, and could not ask for anything better. The bathrooms were clean, the staff and owner made you feel like family. Level lots, free claming and fishing. Walking distance to local Light House, and milse of stone beach. The ONLY down side was that we had not been advized that the pool was under repair and unuseable. Yet, without a pool, our three children NEVER ONCE complained that they were bored. I Love this Place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Five Islands Rv Campground and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Islands Rv Campground and Resort

Address: Highway 2, Five Islands, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Five Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Five Islands
Also Known As:
Five Islands Rv Campground And Resort Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Islands Rv Campground and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.