We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins d'Helene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Jardins d'Helene to your Saves list
Les Jardins d'Helene
12 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than a B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for three nights and can safely say that all the previous reviews reflect the special nature of this accommodation.The room was excellent, clean and comfortable with a large bathroom.Breakfast was delicious with cereal, yogurts, cheese and various breads and jams
Les Jardins d'Helene is at the opposite end of Giverney from Monet's Gardens , however a pleasant 20minute walk through this delightful village is time well spent.
Stop at the church and take time to see Monet's tomb and also the monument and grave of RAF fliers killed during WW 2 .
The Hotel Baudy will offer refreshment during your trek and is an excellent choice for lunch or dinner.
Finally we have to thank Sandrine who added all the touches which make a stay special and wish her well in her new venture.
Hopefully we will have the chance to return in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    53
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
85
235
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is one of the first inns you see on rue Claude Monet when you drive onto this magical street. The inn has a terrific outdoor garden (with fresh fruit that you can pick right off a tree). You can sit amongst beautiful trees and flowers, read a book, swing on a hammock, and just enjoy the beautiful setting. You also have the option to sit in the inn’s living room, listen to a CD and relax. The rooms were nice and clean. My family members shared a suite that enabled everyone to enjoy their privacy. Our breakfast was terrific and the fresh fruit that was served was a wonderful bonus.

It takes about fifteen minutes to walk to Monet’s gardens from the location. You will enjoy the walk. As you stroll along the picturesque street, you can pay tribute to the artist and visit his grave. You can also enjoy a meal at one of Giverny's excellent restaurants, including L'Esquisse Gourmande, where we ate, and Baudy, where many famous impressionist artists met and ate.

I would recommend this inn to everyone and wish the new owners, Sandrine and David, great success in their new position. I would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hosts were incredibly kind and helpful and made our stay one to be remembered. Helping with dinner reservations if needed, recommending places to visit and being able to sell tickets to Monet's garden, so we could avoid the queues!
The house is beautiful and the rooms, clean and tidy and beautifully decorated in a French style.
As a location, it is excellent. we stayed here for 3 nights as a base to explore 'Monet Country' and we weren't disappointed. Being able to explore some beautiful towns/villages/châteaus and of course Monet's Garden which was just a short leisurely walk away.
There is a reason why this is #1 on tripadvisor...well, no, there are several reasons why this is #1!
When we go back to France, we will head back to Les Jardins d'helene.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed one night before visiting Monet's garden (which is only about 400 yards away). The hosts were very kind and welcomed us with a cup of tea when we arrived (probably looking hot and bothered) and then showed us a safe place to park off the road. The bedroom and bathroom were comfortable, clean and pleasantly decorated and we slept well after a meal on the terrace in the nearby restaurant. The location proved its worth the next morning when we were able to get into Monet's garden shortly after opening time, before the crowds and queues had built up.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, overlooking the garden, and had its own large bathroom/shower/loo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pembrokeshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in July visiting Monet's garden of course! This is a lovely house with it's own beautiful gardens. We were given a very warm welcome and stayed in the Barcarolle room. We loved the furnishings and especially the large bathroom complete with quirky artworks. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

From the friendly help in booking to the relaxed breakfasts Gilles was a pleasure to deal with.Our room was welcoming and had an attractive outlook over the garden.The ensuite bathroom had a shower, freestanding bath and room to move.Gilles arranged our tickets to Monet's Garden which saved queueing and the walk through the village was a pleasant part of the experience.Two nights was too short,John Eyre , South Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We wanted to see Monet's Gardens in Giverny and stayed at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. We had the "Barcarolle" room which had a nice view of the back gardens and a very nice (private) bathroom with both a bathtub and stand-up shower. The room was beautifully furnished. Gilles was very friendly and helpful. You can purchase tickets for Monet's Gardens directly from Gilles...this is recommended as the lines to get tickets directly at Monet's gardens are quite long. Les Jardins d'Helene is reasonably close to several nice restaurants in Giverny. Breakfast was nice. There is also a nice common sitting room well-stocked with reading material.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins d'Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Helene

Address: 12 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be seduced by the serene harmony of our picturesque 1906 manor situated at the entrance of Giverny, facing the valley. If you are inspired you can take a walk and wander in Helene's gardens among the roses and fruit trees and take a rest under the green arbor. Claire and Gilles, welcome you in a cordial atmosphere. 5 rooms, calm and refined, are at your disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins d'Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins d'Helene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.