We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pluie de Roses

Save Saved
You added La Pluie de Roses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pluie de Roses
14 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our first visit to Giverny and hopefully not our last. We stayed at La Pluie de Roses for three nights which was in a great position to walk to Monet's house and gardens. M et Mme Chauveau were great hosts, warm and friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the comforts of their beautiful home. Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
127
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in this most charming french B&B 15th April 2013. Elisabeth and Philippe were fantastic hosts and very informative about the local area. Decor and gardens outstanding and would reccomend to everything. We would hope to go again and stay longer than the one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the 6th time we've stayed with Elisabeth and Philippe and our visit was as wonderful as ever. They made us very welcome again, and we felt comfortable in their lovely home. The kind offer of an aperitif each evening was a bonus, and the breakfast was as good as ever. We can thoroughly recommend La Pluie de Roses; if ever you're in Giverny, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The room downstairs is suitable for a family. We have stayed in both rooms upstairs and are both qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Elizabeth and Philippe were lovely hosts, greeting us with a chilled glass of rosé wine which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden on our arrival. Our bed was nice and firm, and our room furnished in typically French pretty style, with cushions galore.
Elizabeth is a retired opera singer, and this was reflected in the numerous photographs and decorations in the house.
Breakfast was a delicious mix of cheeses ham, dried fruit, apple tart, yoghurt and cereal. The only thing missing were fresh croissants but understandably so due to the fact there is no bakery in the village. We thoroughly recommend this B& B and hope to return to see the stunning gardens at Giverny in late summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We want to thank Elizabeth and Philipe - La Pluie de Roses - for the charming host in there beautiful warm home everything was excellent the lovey room the good breakfast . it is a walking distance to monet amazing gardens

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Staying at La Pluie De Roses, made our weekend comfortable, relaxing and overall perfect. Our hosts were generous and extremely hospitable. We stayed in the arlequinade room which was just lovely and spacious. We spoke no french at all but was made welcome by Elizabeth and Philipe with their english. Would not think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We struck it lucky by choosing this charming home to share for four days with our host s and two extraordinarily well behaved King Charles spaniels..Even one of them snoring whilst we had our most generous breakfast was amusing and comforting!!
Our French was adequate, but when needed, Philipe was at the ready to come to our assistance with an accurate summary of what we were trying to communicate and was always most constructive and informative.
The situation of the house we found to be ideal, especially as we enjoy walking and we did the whole length of the streets at the back and front of the B & B several times, and always found something new, beautiful and interesting to discover.
Nearby Vernon was a treasure with fascinating old buildings and a truly marvellous art gallery.
Eating out was not cheap and it is obvious that things have become significantly more expensive over recent years.
Nevertheless it was all worth every penny(or Euro even), and we have every intention of returning next year when the water lillies are out, and of course will make a booking once more at the lovely Pluie de Roses..,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Pluie de Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pluie de Roses

Address: 14 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old property of the Terra Foundation for American Art, from the beginning of the last century, tucked away between the valley and the hills, in the middle of an outstanding environnement, “La Pluie de Roses“ sleeps lightly in a park (6000 square meters) planted with various resinous trees and rose garden.Elisabeth and Philippe Chauveau, the new owners, after an entire renovation,welcome you in a romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Pluie de Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pluie de Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.