We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens and a wonderful exhibition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee des Impressionnismes

Musee des Impressionnismes
99, rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
02 32 51 94 65
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Musee des Impressionnismes like an insider
Private Tour
$168*
and up
Private Tour: Giverny, Monet and Auvers-sur-Oise...
Ranked #4 of 5 things to do in Giverny
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 2009, the Musée d'Art Américain Giverny became the Musée des impressionnismes Giverny, no longer only dedicated to historical American Art, the new museum is dedicated to the Impressionnists group and the links with other art movements as the Neoimpresionnism, the Nabis or the Fauve.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and a wonderful exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The access to the gardens outside the museum is free. They are beautiful and set out nearly like a maze. Each garden has a different colour or theme. Well worth a visit. We were lucky to see the "Hiramatsu - The lily pond, hommage to Monet" Exhibition. Worth the trip to Giverny in itself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    103
    58
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
morgantown, wv
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Japanese Impressionist artist's work on display”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I was attracted into the museum by the posters advertising a display of Japanese artist Hiramatsu's work. Hiramatsu was influenced by Monet's work and visited Monet's garden. His paintings are wonderful! It was very interesting to see Monet's garden through a Japanese artist's eyes considering that Monet's work and his garden were inspired by Japanese aesthetics. I really enjoyed the exhibit. There is a nice gift shop here and a restaurant with outdoor seating during nice weather. A visit to this museum makes a pleasant outing while staying in Giverny!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not much of Monet's work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited this museum during our trip to Giverny to see Monet's house and gardens. I assumed there would be a good amount of Monet's work, and there were only a handful -- if that -- of his paintings hanging there. There was an exhibit of work by a Japanese impressionist, which was very nice. And a few lesser known European impressionists. Very small museum. If Monet is your main interest (or other well-known names like Degas & Pissarro) then save your time for the Musee d'Orsay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great stop off point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

call in to the coffee shop /Bar before and after your visit to the museum you will enjoy your break and even have a bite to eat if you want to...
I did at the start of august 2013. after seeing the gardens we walked over and had coffee and a nice break before we headed off again lovely to sit and look and smell all the flowers that are around you.take in the views of all the lovely gardens A great place to sit and chat about all you have seen.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“OK time filler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I visited the museum after Monet's garden and while a new, light filled building with a reasonably interesting collection I would say its worth a visit if you have time, but wouldnt made a special visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Impressionnismes also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Impressionnismes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee des Impressionnismes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.