We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Les Nympheas

Restaurant Les Nympheas
109 Rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
+33 2 32 21 20 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 restaurants in Giverny
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French, Tea Room, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The restaurant «Les Nymphéas» is located just in front of the Claude Monet’s house and settled down in an old farm from Monet’s time. You will be charmed by the terrace surrounded with flowers, as an invitation to extend the atmosphere of the visit of the gardens. A nice team will show you in the dining room and make you discover the open patio overlooking the typical yard of the farm called “ clos normand “
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were with a little girl and the "menu enfant" was very nice (one of the best we found on our trip). The service was nice and food was good.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    53
    60
    29
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The upside down apple pie is the best with the fresh Norman cream. The dishes are surly someothing out of the cupboards of MOnet's kitchen.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Quaint and beautiful cafe steps from Monet's house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I were there at the end of September as a heat wave was coming into France and needed a pick me up after our tour of Monet's house and garden. Managed to get a table on the lush covered terrace and enjoyed freshly made ice coffee. Gift shop is also very nice with a garden theme.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in garden surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

16 years on from our last visit to Monet's house and garden, we were surprised to see so many food options in the vicinity for the visitor. Anyway, we decided to have our lunch here prior to our visit. There was a large party booked into the dining room, but we were happy to sit at the outside, sheltered, tables and take in the amosphere. Our food was beautifully prepared and presented - main course accompanied by quite an amount of French fries - and we felt appropriately relaxed ad satisfied when we left. There is a 50c charge for use of the toilets, which were in good condition.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch Essex
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I had lunch here with my husband and our friends and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality and price considering this tearoom is so close to Monet's garden. We all had the Quiche and it was absolutely beautiful - a lovely lunch after visiting Monet's house and garden and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Les Nympheas also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Les Nympheas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Les Nympheas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.