We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claude Monet's House and Gardens

Claude Monet's House and Gardens
rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
33 232 51 28 21
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Giverny
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: These beautiful gardens inspired Impressionist Claude Monet's most famous work.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The garden is quite nice but its a shame that parts of the garden were closed off. You walk down to the watergarden and its amazingly peaceful, you forget where you are. Looks just like the photos and pictures. No wonder Monet chose to paint his waterlilly garden...its so beautiful. Would recommend it...but be prepared for the long wait...or prebook your tickets!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    365
    102
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
THE OC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Even going in October we were not disappointed. It's like walking in his paintings. I loved walking through his paintings. Even his house is so nice and quaint. I kept imagining he woke up to all that beauty and he got inspired. This is not to be missed. It's easy to get to by train and then bus. Then you can stroll by tthe lily pond and gardens. They have a few restaurants to eat at as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Better Than Hoped For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We added this on to a month's trip in France expecting the gardens to be quite bare mid-October and hardly anyone visiting. Wrong on both accounts. The gardens were still quite beautiful, a massive tribute to the gardeners, and there were still quite a lot of people visiting although the summer queues had disappeared thank goodness. There are quite a lot of garden paths to wander around with photo opportunities at every turn and then through a tunnel to the breathtakingly beautiful water garden with the famous Japanese bridge. Loitering for quite a while we managed a couple of photo opportunities with no-one else on the bridge but I should imagine that would be extremely difficult in peak season! It's impossible to convey the beauty of these gardens just that the most frequent sound was cameras clicking. The house itself was very pretty both inside and out and Monet's studio was wonderful. Would highly recommend and would love to return, perhaps in Spring. Excellent shop and good, clean non communal toilets.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“such an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Even though it was mid-October, we are so glad that we toured Giverny. We took the trains (several transfers) from Bayeaux and got to Vernon without a hitch. We stored our bags at a restaurant right across the street from the Vernon train station. The bags were locked up and we rented bikes from the same restaurant. We had a lovely bike ride through Vernon, across the Seine, and on to Giverny. The sun came out and the gardens were full of dahlias and cosmos and the incredible arched ally was filled with nasturtiums. The water lillies were all gone but we are still so glad that we visited. Monet's house is unforgettable. The light streaming into the windows is quite memorable.We ate a wonderful lunch at Les Nymphes cafe right across from the garden ticket office.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were able to stand on the bridge over the water lily pond and have our photo taken. How wonderful! The gardens are very well looked after. We will come again in another season.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claude Monet's House and Gardens also viewed

 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Claude Monet's House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claude Monet's House and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Claude Monet's House and Gardens to your Saves list